Skip to main content

Iona College Faculty Authors: 2017

Books

Book Chapters

Alstete, Jeffrey W. "Revenue Generation: Higher Education Institutions." Encyclopedia of International Higher Educational Systems and Institutions. Springer Netherlands, 2017., doi:10.1007/978-94-017-9553-1_536-1. [Abstract only.]

Bournoutian, George. "Arakel Dawrizhetsi." Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History, Vol. 10: The Ottoman and Safavid Empires, 1600-1700. Leiden: Brill, 2017.

Bournoutian, George. "Simeon Lehatsi." Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History, Vol. 10: The Ottoman and Safavid Empires, 1600-1700. Leiden: Brill, 2017.

Bournoutian, George. "Zakaria Kanakertsi." Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History, Vol. 10: The Ottoman and Safavid Empires, 1600-1700. Leiden: Brill, 2017.

Carlyon, David. "David Stone: Defying the Gravity of Expectations." The Palgrave Handbook of Musical Theatre Producers. Palgrave Macmillan, 2017. Faculty Author 782.14 P 161

Defino, Dean. "Crime Family Dramas Before and After The Sopranos." A History of American Crime Fiction. Cambridge University Press, 2017. Faculty Author 813.0872 H 673

Jacobson, C.J., L.H. Mufson, and J.F. Young. "Treating Adolescent Depression using Interpersonal Psychology." Evidence-based Psychotherapies for Children and Adolescents. 3rd ed. New York: Guilford Press, 2017. Faculty Author 618.9289 E93

Moretti, Thomas. "Tragic Mediation in The White Devil." Forms of Faith: Literary Forms and Religious Conflict in Early Modern England. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2017. Faculty Author 820.9382 F726

Stabell, Ivy Linton. "Innocence in Ann Plato's and Susan Paul's Black Children's Biographies." Who Writes for Black Children? African American Children's Literature before 1900. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2017. Faculty Author 810.992 W628

Strausser, Shulamith Lala A. and Meryl Nadel. “Children in Substance-Abusing Families.” Children in the Urban Environment: Linking Social Policy and Clinical Practice. 3rd ed. Springfield, Ill.: Charles C. Thomas, 2017.

To, Nhuan D., Marek Z. Reformat, and Ronald R. Yager. "Linked Open Data: Uncertainty in Equivalence of Properties." Advances in Fuzzy Logic and Technology 2017: Proceedings of: EUSFLAT- 2017, The 10th Conference of the European Society for Fuzzy Logic and Technology Volume 3. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2017. [Abstract only.]

Xiong, Wei and Y.F. Brook Wu. "User Query Enhancement for Behavioral Targeting." Ontologies and Big Data Considerations for Effective Intelligence. Hershey: IGI Global, 2017.

Articles

Full-text online access to the articles is provided if available. Please note that full-text access for some of the articles is restricted to Iona faculty, students, and staff. Online abstracts are provided in lieu of full-text in other cases. 


Alstete, Jeffrey W. "Creating a New Public University and Reviving Democracy: Action Research in Higher Education [Book Review]." Comparative Education Review 61.3 (2017): 655-658., doi:10.1086/692537.

Altinay, Zeynep. "Visual Communication of Climate Change: Local Framing and Place Attachment." Coastal Management 45.4 (2017): 293-309., doi:10.1080/08920753.2017.1327344. [Abstract only.]

Bard, Mitchell. "Propaganda, Persuasion, or Journalism? Fox News' Primetime Coverage of Health-Care Reform in 2009 and 2014." Electronic News 11.2 (2017): 100-118., doi:10.1177/1931243117710278.

Barry, Galen. "The Nozick Game." Teaching Philosophy 40.1 (2017): 1-10., doi:10.5840/teachphil201732961. [Abstract only.]

Beutell, Nicholas J., Marianne M. O'Hare, Joy A. Schneer, and Jeffrey W. Alstete. "Coping with Fear of and Exposure to Terrorism among Expatriates." International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health 14.7 (2017): 1-13., doi:10.3390/ijerph14070808.

Bournoutian, George. "The Population of the South Caucasus according to the 1897 General Census of the Russian Empire." Iran and the Caucasus 21.3 (2017): 324-340., doi:10.1163/1573384X-20170307.

Bournoutian, George. "Prelude to War: The Russian Siege and Storming of the Fortress of Ganjeh, 1803-4." Journal of Iranian Studies 50.1 (2017): 107-124., doi:10.1080/00210862.2016.1159779. [Abstract only.]

Chen, Ruoxi, Fred P. Piercy, Wei-Jen Huang, Ana L. Jaramillo-Sierra, Hassan Karimi, Wei-Ning Chang, Manjushree Palit, Catherine D.M.L. Martosudarmo, Angelito Antonio. "A Cross-National Study of Therapists' Perceptions and Experiences of Premature Dropout from Therapy." Journal of Family Psychotherapy 28.3 (2017): 269-284. [Abstract only.]

Dunkak, Harry M. "John P. Holland, the Christian Brothers, and the Submarine." New York Irish History 31 (2017): 41-47. Archives I 974.7 N 5325, v.31, 2017.

Elmore, Paul, Fred Petry, and Ronald R. Yager. "Dempster-Shafer Approaches to Temporal Uncertainty." IEEE Transactions on Emerging Topics in Computational Intelligence 1.5 (2017): 316-325., doi:10.1109/TETCI.2017.2719711.

Engemann, Krista N., and Kurt J. Engemann. "Risk Attitude Chain: Safety Climate, Risk Attitude and Risk Decisions." International Journal of Business Continuity and Risk Management 7.3 (2017)., doi:10.1504/IJBCRM.2017.088808.

Gioiosa, Marie Elaine. "Do Factors Associated with the Increases in Higher Education Costs Affect Average Net Price at Four-Year Private Not-for-Profit Institutions?" Strategic Enrollment Management Quarterly 5.2 (2017): 67-79., doi:10.1002/sem3.20104. [Abstract only.]

Gioiosa, Marie Elaine. "Do Factors Associated with the Increases in Higher Education Costs Affect Average Net Price at Four-Year Public Institutions?" Strategic Enrollment Management Quarterly 5.1 (2017): 2-19., doi:10.1002/sem3.20098. [Abstract only.]

Grant, Heath, and Cathryn Lavery. "Masquerading Sanity: Crimes, Violence and Victimization on the Internet." Acta Psychopathologica 3.3 (2017)., doi:10.4172/2469-6676.100098.

Griffith, Andrew S. "Human Capital Theory and the U.S. For-Profit Education Industry's Earnings Announcements during the High Unemployment Years of 2008-2010." International Review of Accounting, Banking and Finance Journal 9.2/3/4 (2017): 65-84.

Griffith, Andrew S., Amal AlAbbad, and Ceire Kealty. "Statutes of Limitations: Personal Income Tax Returns." TAXPRO Monthly 39.4 (2017): 10-11.

Griffith, Andrew S. and Veronica Paz. "What's the Consequence of Retaining a Renegade Employee?" Nonprofit World 35.2 (2017): 3.

Harrison, Ashley J., Laine P. Bradshaw, Nilofer C. Naqvi, Madison L. Paff, and Jonathan M. Campbell. "Development and Psychometric Evaluation of the Autism Stigma and Knowledge Questionnaire (ASK-Q)." Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders (2017)., doi:10.1007/s10803-017-3242-x. 

Hughes, Michael J. "David A. Bell, Napoleon: A Concise Biography [Book Review]." European History Quarterly 47.1 (2017): 109-110., doi:10.1177/0265691416674402a.

Hughes, Michael J. "Guibert: Father of Napoleon's Grande Armée [Book Review]." Journal of Military History 81.4 (2017): 1156-1158.

Ivanov, Lubomir. "A Game Development Course for Non-CS Majors." 9th Annual International Conference on Education and New Learning Technologies, July 3-5, 2017, Barcelona Spain/EDULEARN '17 Proceedings. IATED Academy, 2017., doi:10.21125/edulearn.2017.0621.

Jacobson, Colleen. "Mental Health is not just a Girl Thing: Why "13 Reasons Why" Should Ignite Conversation about the Mental Health Issues of Boys Too." ParentToolkit, 12 Jun 2017.

Kang, Yourha. "Changes in the Numbers of Butterfly Weed (Asclepias tuberosa L.) at Marshlands Conservancy in Rye, New York Over a 12 Year Period." In Vivo 38.3 (2017): 131-139.

Kibler, Amanda K. and Christine Hardigree. "Using Evidence in L2 Argumentative Writing: A Longitudinal Case Study across High School and University." Language Learning 67.1 (2017): 75-109., doi:10.1111/lang.12198.

Leon, Joshua K. "Global Cities at Any Cost: Resisting Municipal Mercantilism." City (2017)., doi:10.1080/13604813.2016.1263491. [Abstract only.]

Leon, Joshua K. "Sanctuary Cities in an Age of Resistance." The Progressive, 22 Feb. 2017.

Lopez, Maria, Sue Ellen Evangelista, Melissa Morales, and Sunghee Lee. "Enthalpic Effects of Chain Length and Unsaturation on Water Permeability across Droplet Bilayers of Homologous Monoglycerides." Langmuir 33.4 (2017): 900-912., doi:10.1021/acs.langmuir.6b03932.

Lyle, Timothy S. "Tryin' to Scrub that 'Death Pussy' Clean Again: The Pleasures of Domesticating HIV/AIDS in Pearl Cleage's Fiction." African American Review 50.2 (2017): 153-168., doi:10.1353/afa.2017.0019.

Mangiero, George A. and Michael Kraten. "NPV Sensitivity Analysis: A Dynamic Excel Approach." American Journal of Business Education 10.3 (2017): 113-126., doi:10.19030/ajbe.v10i3.9983.

Merigó, José M., Fabio Blanco-Mesa, Anna M. Gil-Lafuente, and Ronald R. Yager. "Thirty Years of the International Journal of Intelligent Systems: A Bibliometric Review." International Journal of Intelligent Systems 32.5 (2017): 526-554., doi:10.1002/int.21859. [Abstract only.]

Morgan, Joseph. "Aid under Fire: Nation Building and the Vietnam War [Book Review]." The Journal of American History 104.1 (2017): 252-253., doi:10.1093/jahist/jax114.

Nahar, Noor, Aminur Rahman, Neelu N. Nawani, Sibdas Ghosh, and Abul Mandal. "Phytoremediation of Arsenic from the Contaminated Soil Using Transgenic Tobacco Plants Expressing ACR2 Gene of Arabidopsis thaliana." Journal of Plant Physiology 218 (2017): 121-126. [Abstract only.]

Nahar, Noor, Aminur Rahman, Sibdas Ghosh, Neelu Nawani, and Abul Mandal. "Functional Studies of AtACR2 Gene Putatively Involved in Accumulation, Reduction and/or Sequestration of Arsenic Species in Plants." Biologia 72.5 (2017): 520-526., doi:10.1515/biolog-2017-0062.

Naidoo, Kara. "Capturing the Transformation and Dynamic Nature of an Elementary Teacher Candidate's Identity Development as a Teacher of Science." Research in Science Education 47.6 (2017): 1331-1355., doi:10.1007%2Fs11165-016-9550-x.

Paffenroth, Kim. "The Best Teacher is like a Famous Mage Everyone Knows -- Just not any of your Favorites." Teaching Theology & Religion 20.3 (2017): 257-262., doi:10.1111/teth.12393.

Pastalka, T., S. Rooney-Latham, K. Kosta, K. Suslow, V. Huffman, S. Ghosh, and W. Schweigkofler. "Monitoring Using a Sentinel Plant System Reveals Very Limited Aerial Spread of Phytophthora ramorum From Infected Ornamental Plants in a Quarantine Research Nursery." Plant Health Progress (2017), doi:10.1094/PHP-RS-16-0050.

Petrausch, Rob J. "A New Model for Enhanced Results in International PR and Marketing Campaigns." B-UIC 9 (2017): 14-17.

Procario-Foley, Elena. "Fulfillment and Complementarity: Reflections on Relationship in "Gifts and Calling." Studies in Christian-Jewish Relations 12.1 (2017): 1-12., doi:10.6017/scjr.v12i1.9800.

Rathkopf, Charles. "Mental Evolution: A Review of Daniel Dennett's From Bacteria to Bach and Back." Biology & Philosophy 32.6 (2017): 1355-1368., doi:10.1007/s10539-017-9586-y.

Rathkopf, Charles. "Neural Information and the Problem of Objectivity." Biology & Philosophy 32.3 (2017): 321-336., doi:10.1007/s10539-017-9561-7.

Rathkopf, Charles. "What Kind of Information is Brain Information?" Topoi (2017)., doi:10.1007/s11245-017-9512-6. [Abstract only.]

Rosenfeld, Aaron. "Bodies of Water: Un-writing the Mother in Whitman and Eliot." Literary Imagination 19.1 (2017): 54-69., doi:10.1093/litimag/imx019.

Rosenfeld, Aaron. "Wine, Poems, and Song: Lateral Reading and the Pedagogy of Appreciation." Pedagogy 17.2 (2017): 203-234. [Abstract only.]

Shansky, Carol. "Book Review: Suzel Ana Reilly and Katherine Brucher, eds, Brass Bands of the World: Militarism, Colonial Legacies, and Local Music Making." Journal of Historical Research in Music Education (Jan. 2017)., doi:10.1177/1536600616688762.

Songur, Hilmi and Jason E. Heavilin. "Abnormal Research and Development Interests and Stock Returns." The North American Journal of Economics and Finance 42 (2017): 237-249., doi:10.1016/j.najef.2017.07.010. [Abstract only.]

Stillwaggon, James. "'A Fantasy of Untouchable Fullness': Melancholia and Resistance to Educational Transformation." Educational Theory 67.1 (2017): 51-66., doi:10.1111/edth.12225.

Stillwaggon, James. "On the Unmourned Losses of Educational Growth: An Introduction." Educational Theory 67.1 (2017): 31-36., doi:10.1111/edth.12223.

Suen, Alison. "Teaching Taboo Topics: Why It Matters and How to Pull It Off." Teaching Philosophy 40.1 (2017): 87-102., doi:10.5840/teachphil20174365. [Abstract only.]

Thiery, Daniel E. "Henry V: The Conscience of a King [Book Review]." History: Reviews of New Books 45.6 (2017): 151-152., doi:10.1080/03612759.2017.1364086.

Yager, Ronald R. "Belief Structures, Weight Generating Functions and Decision Making." Fuzzy Optimization and Decision Making 16.1 (2017): 1-21., doi:10.1007/s10700-016-9236-x.

Yager, Ronald R. "Bidirectional Possibilistic Dominance in Uncertain Decision Making." Knowledge-Based Systems 133.1 (2017): 269-277., doi:10.1016/j.knosys.2017.06.029. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "Generalized Orthopair Fuzzy Sets." IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems 25.5 (2017): 1222-1280., doi:10.1109/TFUZZ.2016.2604005.

Yager, Ronald R. "Generalized Regret Based Decision Making." Engineering Applications of Artificial Intelligence 65 (2017): 400-405., doi:10.1016/j.engappai.2017.08.001. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "OWA Aggregation of Multi-criteria with Mixed Uncertain Satisfactions." Information Sciences 417 (2017): 88-95., doi:10.1016/j.ins.2017.06.037.

Yager, Ronald R. and Naif Alajlan. "Approximate Reasoning with Generalized Orthopair Fuzzy Sets." Information Fusion 38 (2017): 65-73., doi:10.1016/j.inffus.2017.02.005.

Yager, Ronald R. and Naif Alajlan. "Maxitive Belief Structures and Imprecise Possibility Distributions." IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems 25.4 (2017): 768-774., doi:10.1109/TFUZZ.2016.2574930.

Yager, Ronald R., Paul Elmore, and Fred Petry. "Soft Likelihood Functions in Combining Evidence." Information Fusion 36 (2017): 185-190., doi:10.1016/j.inffus.2016.11.013. [Abstract only.]

Zakai, I., M.E. Varner, and R.B. Gerber. "Concerted Transfer of Multiple Protons in Acid-Water Clusters: [(HCl)(H2O)]2 and [(HF)(H2O)]4." Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics 19.31 (2017): 20641-20646., doi:10.1039/C7CP04006G. [Abstract only.]