Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Iona College Faculty Authors: 2001

Books

Book Chapters

Berlage, Gai Ingham. "Women, Baseball, and the American Dream." Baseball and the American Dream: Race, Class, Gender and the National Pastime. Armonk: M.E. Sharpe, 2001. Faculty Author 306.48 B 299

Engemann, Kurt J., Holmes E. Miller, and Ronald R. Yager. "Information Fusion in Group Support Systems Using the Power Average." Advances in Decision Technology and Intelligent Information Systems. Volume II. Windsor: International Institute for Advanced Studies in Systems Research and Cybernetics, 2001.

Grieger, Ingrid and Susan Toliver. "Multiculturalism on Predominantly White Campuses." Handbook of Multicultural Counseling. Thousand Oaks: Sage, 2001. Faculty Author 158.3 H2363-1

Ivanov, Lubomir. "Formal Verification of Microinstruction Sequencing." Computing and Information Technologies: Exploring Emerging Technologies. Singapore: World Scientific, 2001.

Miller, Holmes E. and Kurt J. Engemann. "Selecting E-commerce Project Portfolios." Advances in Decision Technology and Intelligent Information Systems. Volume II. Windsor: International Institute for Advanced Studies in Systems Research and Cybernetics, 2001.

Pendleton, Thomas A. "Talking with York: A Conversation with Steven Skybell." Henry VI: Critical Essays. New York: Routledge, 2001. Faculty Author 822.33 H 6p

Encyclopedia Entries

Shetty, Anand. "Ethics in Finance." Encyclopedia of Busine$$ and Finance. Ed. Burton S. Kaliski. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001. 

Shetty, Anand. "Mutual Funds." Encyclopedia of Busine$$ and Finance. Ed. Burton S. Kaliski. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001. 

Articles & Conference Proceedings

Full-text online access to the articles is provided if available. Please note that full-text access for some of the articles is restricted to Iona faculty, students, and staff. Online abstracts, if available, are provided in lieu of full-text in other cases. 

Alstete, Jeffrey W. "Alternative Uses of Electronic Learning Systems for Enhancing Team Performance." Team Performance Management 7.3/4 (2001): 48-52.

Bailie, Frances. "Comparing a Local School District’s Teacher Use of Computing With National Survey Results." Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2001. Chesapeake: Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE), 2001. 2655-9.

Bean, David F. "Equivocal Reporting: Ethical Communication Issues." Journal of Business Ethics 29.1-2 (2001): 65-76.

Berlage, Gai Ingham. "Great Women in the Sport of Kings: America's Top Women Jockies Tell their Stories [Book Review]." Sociology of Sport Journal 18.2 (2001): 264-6.

Carroll, James T. "American Indian Population Recovery in the Twentieth Century by Nancy Shoemaker." Agricultural History 75.4 (2001): 503-4.

Carroll, James T. "Natives and Newcomers: The Cultural Origins of North America by James Axtell [Book Review]." The History Teacher 35.1 (2001): 108-9.

D'Aquila, Jill M. "Financial Accountants' Perceptions of Management's Ethical Standards." Journal of Business Ethics 31.3 (2001): 233-44.

Della Russo, Neil, Michael J. Mumma, Michael A. DiSanti, Karen Magee-Sauer, and Robert Novak. "Ethane Production and Release in Comet C/1995 O1 Hale–Bopp." Icarus 153.1 (2001): 162-79.

Egelman, William, William Gratzer, and Michael D'Angelo. "Italian Americans in Suburbia: Italian Americans in Westchester County, New York." Proceedings of the American Italian Historical Association 34 (2001): 91-9.

Engemann, Kurt J. and Ronald R. Yager. "A General Approach to Decision Making with Interval Probabilities." International Journal of General Systems 30.6 (2001): 623-47. [Abstract only.]

Evered, Lisa J. "Riddles, Puzzles, and Paradoxes: Having Fun with Serious Mathematics." Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School 6.8 (2001): 458-61.

Goldsby, Diane and Minaz Fazal. "Now that your Students have Created Web-based Digital Portfolios, How Do You Evaluate Them?" Journal of Technology & Teacher Education 9.4 (2001): 607-16.

Ivanov, Lubomir. "Formal verification of a microprocessor control." Proceedings of the 44th IEEE 2001 Midwest Symposium on Circuits and Systems. Vol. 2. Piscataway: IEEE, 2001. 646-50. [Abstract only.]

Ivanov, Lubomir and R. Nunna. "Modeling and Verification of Cache Coherence Protocols." ISCAS 2001 : the 2001 IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems : conference proceedings. Vol. 5. Piscataway: IEEE, 2001. 129-132. [Abstract only.]

Ivanov, Lubomir and R. Nunna. "Modeling and Verification of Iterated Systems and Protocols." Proceedings of the 44th IEEE 2001 Midwest Symposium on Circuits and Systems: MWSCAS 2001. Vol. 2. Piscataway: IEEE, 2001. 661-5. [Abstract only.]

Kacprzyk, Janusz, and Ronald R. Yager. "Linguistic Summaries of Data Using Fuzzy Logic." International Journal of General Systems 30.2 (2001): 133-54. [Abstract only.]

Levkov, Jerome. "The Internet and the Environment." BIOS 72.1 (2001): 14-17. [Preview only.]

Loubeau, Patricia R., J.M. Loubeau, and Robert Jantzen. "The Economics of Kidney Transplantation versus Hemodialysis." Progress in Transplantation 11.4 (2001): 291-7.

Maher, Vincent F. "We'll Take It! Should We?" JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics and Regulation 3.1 (2001): 15-18.

Mangiero, Susan and George A. Mangiero. "Is Correlation Coefficient the Standard for FAS 133 Hedge Effectiveness?" GARP Risk Review, no.1 (2001).

Manley, John F. and Anand Shetty. "Secondary Schools May Encourage Ethical Training with Heart and Head Traits." Long Island Education Review 1.2 (2001).

Mentz, Steven R. "The Heroine as Courtesan: Dishonesty, Romance, and the Sense of an Ending in The Unfortunate Traveler." Studies in Philology 98.3 (2001): 339-58.

Moscato, Donald R. "Compensation Models for Faculty Teaching Online Courses." Issues in Information Systems 2 (2001).

Mumma, M.J., I.S. McLean, M.A. DiSanti, J.E. Larkin, N. Dello Russo, K. Magee-Sauer, E.E. Becklin, T. Bida, F. Chaffee, A.R. Conrad, D.F. Figer, A.M. Gilbert, J.R. Graham, N.A. Levenson, R.E. Novak, D.C. Reuter, H.I. Teplitz, M.K. Wilcox, and Li-Hong Xu. "A Survey of Organic Volatile Species in Comet C/1999 H1 (Lee) Using NIRSPEC at the Keck Observatory." The Astrophysical Journal 546.2 (2001): 1183-93.

Mumma, M.J., N. Dello Russo, M.A. DiSanti, K. Magee-Sauer, R.E. Novak, S. Brittain, T. Rettig, I.S. McLean, D.C. Reuter, and Li-H. Xu. "Organic Composition of C/1999 S4 (LINEAR): A Comet Formed near Jupiter?" Science 292.5520 (2001): 1334-9.

O'Donnell, Charles F., Irene M. Hammerbacher, and Joseph W. Ford. "The Pros and Cons of the Privatization of Social Security." National Social Science Journal 17.1 (2001): 99-1709.

Pendleton, Thomas A. "What [?] Price [?] Shakespeare [?]." Literature/Film Quarterly 29.2 (2001): 135-46.

Rudell, Fredrica. "Made Where, by Whom, under What Conditions? Shopping with a Social Conscience in a Global Marketplace." American Marketing Association Conference Proceedings 12 (2001): 110-7.

Rybalov, A. and Ronald R. Yager. "Controlled Clustering, Uni-norm Operators and OWA Operators." Joint 9th IFSA World Congress and 20th NAFIPS International Conference: Proceedings. Vol. 4. Piscataway: IEEE, 2001. 1935-9. [Abstract only.]

Salamone, Frank A. "Islam in South Africa: Mosques, Imams, and Sermons by Abdulkader Tayob [Book Review]." Africa and the Environment 48.1 (2001): 159-60.

Salamone, Frank A. "Madumo: A Man Bewitched by Adam Ashforth [Book Review]." Africa and the Environment 48.1 (2001): 147-8.

Salamone, Frank A. "The Making of South African Legal Culture, 1901-1936: Fear, Favour and Prejudice by Martin Chanock [Book Review]." Musical Performance in Africa 48.4 (2001): 127-8.

Taber, R., Ronald R. Yager, and C.M. Helgason. "Small-sample Quantization Effects on the Equilibrium Behavior of Combined Fuzzy Cognitive Maps." The 10th IEEE International Conference on Fuzzy Systems. Vol. 3. Piscataway: IEEE, 2001. 1567-72. [Abstract only.]

Wirgin, Isaac, Tim Oppermann, and Joseph Stabile. "Genetic Divergence of Robust Redhorse Moxostoma robustum (Cypriniformes Catostomidae) from the Oconee River and the Savannah River Based on Mitochondrial DNA Control Region Sequences." Copeia (2001): 526-30. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "Dempster–Shafer Belief Structures with Interval Valued Focal Weights." International Journal of Intelligent Systems 16.4 (2001): 497-512. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "Determining Equivalent Values for Possibilistic Variables." IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics, Part B: Cybernetics 31.1 (2001): 19-31. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "Dissonance--A Measure of Variability for Ordinal Random Variables." International Journal of Uncertainty, Fuzziness & Knowledge-Based Systems 9.1 (2001): 39-53.

Yager, Ronald R. "Fusion of Multi-agent Preference Orderings." Fuzzy Sets and Systems 111.7 (2001): 1-12., doi:10.1016/S0165-0114(98)00418-7.

Yager, Ronald R. "Measuring the Information and Character of a Fuzzy Measure." Joint 9th IFSA World Congress and 20th NAFIPS International Conference: Proceedings. Vol. 3. Piscataway: IEEE, 2001. 1718-22. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "Nearest Neighbor Rules Using Ordinal Information." Joint 9th IFSA World Congress and 20th NAFIPS International Conference: Proceedings. Vol. 2. Piscataway: IEEE, 2001. 968-72. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "The Power Average Operator." IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics, Part A: Systems and Humans 31.6 (2001): 724-31. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "Uninorms in Fuzzy Systems Modeling." Fuzzy Sets and Systems 122.1 (2001): 167-76., doi:10.1016/S0165-0114(00)00027-0.

Yager, Ronald R. and Frederick E. Petry. "Fusing Object Information and Peer Information." International Journal of Intelligent Systems 16.2 (2001): 1419-44. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. and Gabriella Pasi. "Product Category Description for Web-Shopping in E-commerce." International Journal of Intelligent Systems 16.8 (2001): 1009-21. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R., Marcin Detyniecki, and Bernadette Bouchon-Meunier. "A Context-dependent Method for Ordering Fuzzy Numbers Using Probabilities." Information Sciences 138.1 (2001): 237-55., doi:10.1016/S0020-0255(01)00132-3.