Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Iona College Faculty Authors: 2010

Books

Book Chapters

Breslin, Jack. "Cops and Reality TV: Public Service or Public Menace?" Ethics and Entertainment: Essays on Media Culture and Media Morality. Ed. Howard Good and Sandra L. Borden. Jefferson: McFarland, 2010. 163-175. Call number: Faculty Author 174 E 841

Edelstein, Elizabeth, and Elena Procario-Foley. "Coming of Age during the Holocaust, Coming of Age Now: Challenges, Opportunities, and Necessities Related to Interreligious Dialogue." Learn, Teach, Prevent: Holocaust Education in the 21st Century. Ed. Carol Rittner. Greensburg, Pa.: National Catholic Center for Holocaust Education, 2010. Call number: Faculty Author 940.5318 L 438

Engemann, Kurt J. and Holmes E. Miller. "An Index for Business Continuity Planning." Advances in Decision Technology and Intelligent Information Systems, Volume XI. Windsor: The International Institute for Advanced Studies in Systems Research and Cybernetics, 2010.

Eodice, Alexander R. "Keeping Time in Mind: Saint Augustine's Proposed Solution to a Perplexing Problem." Augustine and Philosophy. Eds. Phillip Cary, John Doody, and Kim Paffenroth. Lanham, Md.: Lexington Books, 2010. 61-78.

Jacobson, Colleen M., and Laura Mufson. "Treating Adolescent Depression Using Interpersonal Psychotherapy." Evidence-Based Psychotherapies for Children and Adolescents. Ed. John R. Weisz and Alan E. Kazdin. 2nd ed. New York: Guilford, 2010. 140-158.

Ketz, Victoria L. "Voicing Taboos in Sandra Cisneros' Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories." Sandra Cisneros' Woman Hollering Creek. Ed. Cecilia S. Donohue. Amsterdam: Rodopi, 2010.

Paffenroth, Kim. "Apocalyptic Images and Prophetic Function in Zombie Films," Reel Revelations: Apocalypse and Film. Eds. John Walliss and Lee Quinby. Sheffield: Phoenix Press, 2010. 6-24. Call number: Faculty Author 791.436 R 3275

Toliver, Susan D., and Penelope J. Moore. "Struggles Within: Black Faculty-Black Students Intra-Racial Dynamics at Predominantly White Institutions." Dilemmas of Black Faculty at Predominantly White Institutions in the United States: Issues in the Post-Multicultural Era. Eds. Sharon Moore, Rudolph Alexander, and Anthony J. Lemelle. Lewiston, N.Y.: Edwin Mellen Press, 2010. 185-196. Call number: Faculty Author 378.12 D 576

Wainwright, Robert. "Conway's Game of Life: Early Personal Recollections." Game of Life Cellular Automata. Ed. Andrew Adamatzky. London: Springer, 2010. 11-16. Call number: Faculty Author 511.3 G 192

 

Pamphlets

Encyclopedia Entries

Lewis, Jane. "Grace Paley." The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, Vol. 8. Ed. Kenneth T. Jackson. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2010.

Lewis, Jane. "Stanley Kunitz." The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, Vol. 8. Ed. Kenneth T. Jackson. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2010.

Articles & Conference Proceedings

Full-text online access to the articles is provided if available. Please note that full-text access for some of the articles is restricted to Iona faculty, students, and staff. Online abstracts are provided in lieu of full-text in other cases. 

Aggarwal, Raj and NyoNyo Aung Kyaw. "Capital Structure, Dividend Policy, and Multinationality: Theory Versus Empirical Evidence." International Review of Financial Analysis 19.2 (2010): 140-150.

Alstete, Jeffrey W. "Policy and Performance in American Higher Education: An Examination of Cases across State Systems [Book Review]." Review of Higher Education 34.1 (2010): 175-176.

Alstete, Jeffrey W. and John P. Meyer. "Structuring Innovation in the Knowledge Management Platform: Perceptions and Practices." Journal of Information and Knowledge Management 9.1 (2010): 1-14.

Altschuller, Shoshana, David S. Gelb, and Theresa F. Henry. "IT as a Resource for Competitive Agility: an Analysis of Firm Performance during Industry Turbulence." Journal of International Technology and Information Management 19.1 (2010): 39-59.

Altschuller, Shoshana and Raquel Benbunan-Fich. "Trust, Performance, and the Communication Process in Ad Hoc Decision-Making Virtual Teams." Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication 16.1 (2010): 27-47.

Altschuller, Shoshana and Raquel Benbunan-Fich.  “Voluntary and Involuntary Self-Disclosure in Decision-Making Virtual Teams." Communications of the IIMA, Vol. 10, Issue 2, 2010, pp. 15-28.

Bailie, Frances, Bill Marion, and Deborah Whitfield. "How Rubrics that Measure Outcomes Can Complete the Assessment Loop." Journal of Computing Sciences in Colleges 25.6 (2010): 15-25.

Bailie, Frances, Keitha Murray, Smiljana Petrovic, and Deborah Whitfield. "Incorporating Ethics into the Computer Science Curriculum: Multiple Perspectives." Journal of Computing Sciences in Colleges 25.3 (2010): 53. [Abstract only.]

Beliakov, Gleb, Simon James, Juliana Mordelová, Tatiana Rückschlossová, and Ronald R. Yager. "Generalized Bonferroni mean operators in multi-criteria aggregation." Fuzzy Sets & Systems 161.17 (2010): 2227-2242. 

Bernardi, Richard A., David F. Bean, and Paul F. Williams. "The Place Of Ethics Scholarship In The U.S. Accounting Academy: Accounting Doctorates' Research Productivity In Ethics Journals." Conflict Resolution & Negotiation Journal 3 (2010): 98-119.

Beutell, Nicholas J. "The Causes and Consequences of Work-Family Synergy: An Empirical Study in the United States." International Journal of Management 27.3 (2010): 650-64.

Beutell, Nicholas J. "Health, Supervisory Support, and Workplace Culture in Relation to Work-Family Conflict and Strategy." Psychological Reports 107.1 (2010): 3-14.

Beutell, Nicholas J. "Work Schedule, Work Schedule Control and Satisfaction in Relation to Work-Family Conflict, Work-Family Synergy, and Domain Satisfaction." Career Development International 15.5 (2010): 501-18.

Breitbart, William, Barry Rosenfeld, Christopher Gibson, Hayley Pessin, Shannon Poppito, Christian Nelson, Alexis Tomarken, Anne Kosinski Timm, Amy Berg, Colleen Jacobson, Brooke Sorger, Jennifer Abbey, and Megan Olden. "Meaning-centered Group Psychotherapy for Patients with Advanced Cancer: A Pilot Randomized Controlled Trial." Psych-Oncology 19.1 (2010): 21-8.

Breslin, Jack. "The Case for More Human Reporting: A Review." Journal of Mass Media Ethics: Exploring Questions of Media Morality 25.4 (2010): 333-335.

Carpenter, James E., and William Gratzer. "A Classroom Note on the Vees of a Function." Mathematics and Computer Education 44.1 (2010): 48-52. 

Carroll, James T. "Constructing Lives at Mission San Francisco: Native Californians and Hispanic Colonists, 1776-1821 [Book Revew]." Catholic Southwest 21 (2010): 85-86.

Carroll, James T. "The Quest for More Than a Basketball Title [Book Review]." Journal of the Gilded Age & Progressive Era 9.2 (2010): 261-263.

Carroll, James T. "Religion and Healing in Native America: Pathways for Renewal [Book Review]." American Indian Quarterly 34.2 (2010): 258-259.

Carroll, James T. "Voices from Haskell: Indian Students between Two Worlds, 1884-1928. [Book Review]." Western Historical Quarterly 41.2 (2010): 255-256.

Ciardiello, A.V. "Talking Walls: Presenting a Case for Social Justice Poetry in Literacy Education." Reading Teacher 63.6 (2010): 464-7.

Cleary, Scott M. "Castles in the Air: Christopher Smart and the Concept of System." Eighteenth-Century Studies 43.2 (2010): 193-206.

Cleary, Scott M. "Slouching toward Augusta: Alexander Pope's 1736 'Windsor Forest.'" SEL: Studies in English Literature 50.3 (2010): 645-663.

Donnarumma, Thomas. "Unorthodox View: An Interview with Yisrael Campbell." Ecumenica: Journal of Theatre and Performance 3.1 (2010): 37-44.  

Dunkak, Harry M. "Brother Anthony Edmund D’Adamo." Christian Brothers Educational Record (2010).

Dunkak, Harry M. "The Charles B. Quinn Collection: A Source for the Study of Irish History & Culture." New York Irish History 24 (2010):34-43.

Fang, Jianing. "A Report on U.S. XBRL Conversion Progress." Proceedings of the Northeast Business & Economics Association (2010): 42-45. 

Gao, Ning. "Evidence on Board Size and its Impact on CEO Pay-Performance Sensitivity." Corporate Ownership and Control 7.4 (2010): 233-51.

Gao, Ning, and Jason Everett Brooks. "Capital Structure and Outcome of Proxy Contest Targets." Managerial Finance 36.4 (2010): 294-321.

Goldstein, Adam M. "Exploring Phylogeny at the Tree of Life Web Project." Evolution: Education and Outreach 3.4 (2010): 668-674. 

Goldstein, Adam M. "God Versus the Human Genome [Review]." Evolution: Education and Outreach 3.4 (2010): 677-678.

Goldstein, Adam M. "The NCBI Databases: an Evolutionist’s Perspective." Evolution: Education and Outreach 3.3 (2010): 451-455.

Goldstein, Adam M. "The Origin Manuscripts at 'The Darwin Manuscripts Project.'" Evolution: Education and Outreach 3.1 (2010): 121-127.

Goldstein, Adam M. "Richard Owen’s 'Most Interesting Department of Natural History ... Its Very Soul' [Review]." Evolution: Education and Outreach 3.2 (2010): 293-296.

Goldstein, Adam M. and Glenn Branch. "Complete Bibliography of Eugenie C. Scott." Evolution: Education and Outreach 3.2 (2010): 245-253.

Grunewald, Donald. "Possible Strategies for Increasing Free Trade in Europe and the Americas." Journal of Leadership, Accountability & Ethics 8.1 (2010): 90-94.

Haber, Jeffry. "Does The Market Go To 1?" Journal of Business & Economics Research 8.3 (2010): 99-102.

Hoover, K.W., M. Butler, K. Workowski, F. Carpio, S. Follansbee, B. Gratzer, B. Hare, B. Johnston, John L. Theodore, M. Wohlfeiler, G. Tao, J.T. Brooks, T. Chorba, K. Irwin, and C.T. Kent. "STD Screening of HIV-infected MSM in HIV Clinics." Sexually Transmitted Diseases 37.12 (2010): 771-6.

Hughes, Michael J. "Review: Philip Dwyer, Napoleon: The Path to Power 1769—1799." European History Quarterly 40 (2010): 317-319.

Jirik-Babb, Pauline. "The Role of Health Psychology in Treating Obesity: A Growing Public Health Problem." New York State Psychologist 22.3 (2010).

Kang, Monsoo. "Probability of Information-Based Trading and the January Effect." Journal of Banking & Finance 34.12 (2010): 2985-2994. [Abstract only.]

Klein, Josh and Cathryn Lavery. "Presidential Candidates and State Crime: Views of Some U.S. College Students." Critical Criminology 18.3 (2010): 191-209.

Lacey, Robert J. "Thomas Pynchon on Totalitarianism: Power, Paranoia, and Preterition in Gravity's Rainbow." Americana: E-Journal of American Studies in Hungary 6.2 (2010).

Lee, Sunghee, Paul J. Sanstead, Joseph M. Wiener, Remon Bebawee, and Aileen G. Hilario. "Effect of Specific Anion on Templated Crystal Nucleation at the Liquid-Liquid Interface." Langmuir 26.2 (2010): 9556-9564.

Lin, Kai-Shun, Po-Yin Yeh, Chia-Ling Tsai, Shih-Jen Chen, and Wei-Yang Lin. "Retinal Vascular Tree Construction with Multimodal Fluorescein Angiogram Sequence." Biomedical Engineering: Applications, Basis and Communications 22.2 (2010).

Makimura, Yasuhiro. "A Review of Ruffians, Yakuza, Nationalists: The Violent Politics of Modern Japan, 1860–1960." History: Reviews of New Books 38.2 (2010): 63-64.

Mangiero, George A., and John Manley. "Improving Pedagogy through the Use of Dynamic Excel Presentations in Financial Management Courses." American Journal of Business Education 3.1 (2010): 91-106.

McSweeney-Feld, Mary Helen, and Dennis J. Nirtaut. "Consumer-Driven Health Plans:  Employer Practices and Future Outlook." WorldatWork Journal 19.1 (2010).

McSweeney-Feld, Mary Helen, S. Discenza, and George DeFeis. "Strategic Alliances & Customer Impact: A Case Study of Community Hospitals." Journal of Business & Economics Research 8.9 (2010): 13-21.

Merigó, José M., and Kurt J. Engemann. "Fuzzy Decision Making with Probabilities and Induced Aggregation Operators." Lectures on Modelling and Simulation 11.1 (2010): 88-98.

Moore, Penelope J., and Susan D. Toliver. "Intraracial Dynamics of Black Professors' and Black Students' Communication in Traditionally White Colleges and Universities." Journal of Black Studies 40.5 (2010): 932-45.

O'Connell, Paul and Daniel Forrester. "Think Differently: Update Your Stats to Unlock Outcomes." Public Manager 38.4 (2010): 5-9.

Paffenroth, Kim. "Jesus of Hollywood [Book Review]." Religion & the Arts 14.5 (2010): 660-1.

Paffenroth, Kim. "Thirteen Essays on Evolution and Creationism in Modern Debates [Book Review]." Evolution: Education and Outreach 3.2 (2010): 297-299.

Pelta, David A. and Ronald R. Yager. "Decision Strategies in Mediated Multiagent Negotiations: An Optimization Approach." IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man & Cybernetics: Part A 40.3 (2010): 635-640. 

Perricone, Christopher. "Tragedy: A Lesson in Survival." Journal of Aesthetic Education 44.1 (2010): 70-83.

Pescatrice, Donn R. "Revitalizing Education through a Student Incentive Structure." Academy of Educational Leadership Journal 14.2 (2010): 103-117.

Reville, Patrick J. "Crawford v. Washington, Revisited Confrontation Or Not, Don't Forget To Duck, Man." Journal of Business Case Studies 6.3 (2010): 37-42.

Reville, Patrick J. "Supreme Court to Chicago on Gun Control: Go to Heller!" Journal of Business and Economics Research 8.11 (2010): 39-43.

Salamone, Frank A. "An Anthropological Perspective on Asylum Cases." US-China Law Review 7.1 (2010): 1-6.

Schumaker, Robert P. and Hsinchun Chen. "A Discrete Stock Price Prediction Engine Based on Financial Hews." Computer 43.1 (2010): 51-56. 

Shaw, James W., A. Simon Pickard, and Ronald R. Yager. "Application of Directional Statistics to Health State Valuation: A Commentary on Craig and Oppe." Social Science & Medicine 71.3 (2010): 429-430. 

Shetty, Anand and Steven L. Kroleski. "The Mortgage Crisis: Government Intervention And Debtors' Options." Journal of Business & Economics Research 8.4 (2010): 59-62.

Stillwaggon, James. "Inviolable Laws, Impossible to Keep: Orwell on Education, Suffering, and the Loss of Childhood." Educational Theory 60.1 (2010): 61-80.

Stillwaggon, James. "Other Desires and Public Recognition: Re-Reading Mayo's Plato's Aristophanes." Philosophy of Education (2010): 217-24.

Stillwaggon, James, and Anderson, R. "'Nothing Carries the Root of its Own being in Itself': Hegel and Lacan on the Subject of Desire." Journal of Curriculum Theorizing 26.2 (2010): 102-110.

Theodore, John L. "Group Counseling Role-Play in the Classroom." Teaching of Psychology Conference: Ideas & Innovations: Proceedings from the Annual Conference. ERIC, 2000. 48-51.

Thiery, Daniel E. "Exploring Medieval Crime and Punishment [Book Reviews]." History: Reviews of New Books 38.4 (2010): 116-118.

Tsai, Chia-Ling, Chun-Yi, Gehia Yang, and Kai-Shung Lin. "The Edge-Driven Dual-Bootstrap Iterative Closest Point Algorithm for Registration of Multimodal Fluorescein Angiogram Sequence." IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging 29.3 (2010): 636-649.

Wirgin, Isaac, Cheryl Grunwald, Joseph Stabile, and John R. Waldman. "Delineation of Discrete Population Segments of Shortnose Sturgeon Acipenser Brevirostrum Based on Mitochondrial DNA Control Region Sequence Analysis." Conservation Genetics 11.3 (2010): 689-708.

Yager, Ronald R. "Concept Representation and Database Structures in Fuzzy Social Relational Networks." IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man & Cybernetics: Part A 40.2 (2010): 413-419. 

Yager, Ronald R. "Criteria Satisfaction under Measure Based Uncertainty." Fuzzy Optimization & Decision Making 9.3 (2010): 307-331.

Yager, Ronald R. "Finding the Maximal Membership in a Fuzzy Set of an Element from Another Fuzzy Set." International Journal of General Systems 39.8 (2010): 801.811.

Yager, Ronald R. "A Framework for Reasoning with Soft Information." Information Sciences 180.8 (2010): 1390-1406. 

Yager, Ronald R. "Level Sets and the Representation Theorem for Intuitionistic Fuzzy Sets." Soft Computing 14.1 (2010): 1-7. [Abstract only.]

Yager, Ronald R. "Lexicographic Ordinal OWA Aggregation of Multiple Criteria." Information Fusion 11.4 (2010): 374-380. 

Zakierski, Marlene and Alice Siegel. "Creating Collaborative Literacy Teams To Increase Reading Achievement In Urban Settings." Journal of College Teaching and Learning 7.4 (2010): 25-28.

Zhang, Lihai, Terrence Gavin, Anthony P. DeCaprio, and Richard M. LoPachin. "γ-Diketone Axonopathy: Analyses of Cytoskeletal Motors and Highways in CNS Myelinated Axons." Toxicological Sciences 117.1 (2010): 180-189.