Nursing
Search by DOI, article title, journal name and more
- Find an exact article by its citation informationSearch for an article by DOI, PMID, title, author, etc.
Databases
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text provides the full text for nursing and allied health literature and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Ovid Nursing Full Text + Ovid Emcare - 2018 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS is a single source of both premier current journal content from Lippincott and bibliographic and abstract data from the Ovid Nursing Database and Ovid Emcare. - Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields. Find coverage for over 70 wide-ranging topics including: Cytology, Nursing, Nutrition, Oncology, Pediatric Care, Pharmacology, Public Health, and Radiology. - ScienceDirect (via SciVerse) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for peer-reviewed, scholarly content to include over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books that span major scientific disciplines. - Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to nursing and allied health journals, plus Health Reference Center and the Alternative Health Module. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, updated on a daily basis, provides 550+ scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 800+ journals. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present. - Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides reliable and relevant information on a wide range of health administration topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, Personnel management, Ethics, Health economics, and Public health administration.
- Health Services Research (Pubmed)These specialized PubMed searches focus on healthcare quality and costs. HSR Study Categories finds citations that correspond to a specific health services research study category, such as qualitative research and quality improvement studies.
- Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. - COVID-19 in America: Response, Issues, and Law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Incorporated into HeinOnline Academic, this new Covid-19 database contains factual information about how COVID-19 has impacted public health, economics, society, and the world. Access hundreds of Congressional Research Service (CRS) and Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports, scholarly articles, and external links. The database is updated regularly as this fluctuating situation evolves. - Scopus Preview This link opens in a new windowScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The Scopus Preview is an offer of free features to non-subscribed users, and can be used to search for authors and learn more about Scopus content coverage and source metrics. Researchers will need to create an Elsevier account on the site to use Scopus Preview's features.
- HaPI This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) collects bibliographic information for peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs. HaPI is an essential resource that helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests most relevant to their research purposes. - Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. - Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This reference source contains definitions and articles on a number of health and wellness-related topics, as well as news articles and journal articles.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 50+ psychology journals, most published by the American Psychological Association. (Note: All full-text articles can also be accessed by searching the much larger PsycINFO database.) - ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and documents related to education research, searching scholarly and trade journal articles. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database, produced by the American Psychological Association’s (APA), contains 3 million+ records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600's. Journal coverage spans from the 1800's to the present and includes material from 2,500+ international periodicals in all fields relating to psychology. - ScienceDirect (via SciVerse) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for peer-reviewed, scholarly content to include over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books that span major scientific disciplines. - Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), provides indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. - Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals, magazines and other resources covering multidisciplinary topics. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present. - Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users will discover proven treatment techniques, examine experimental research theses, and find unique applications for specific sports (everything from baseball and bowling to tennis and yachting).
- US DailiesSearch one or all of these daily national newspapers; Chicago Tribute, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering many current social issues, features updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, images and other resources. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Congressional Quarterly reports addressing controversial current issues. Includes historical perspective, recent developments, statistics, opposing viewpoints, and sources for additional research. - News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more 1,000+ major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. - Flipster Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital newsstand that offers a browse-able access to popular magazines such as Bloomberg Businessweek, Forbes, Fortune, and The New Yorker.
Magazines can be downloaded to Android™ phones and tablets, Apple® phones and tables, and Kindle Fire tablets for offline reading. - General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, reports and daily updates on a variety of topics: business, technology, current events, environmental issues, health care, humanities, politics, and many more. - The New York Times (1980 - Current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Often considered the official U.S. newspaper, the NYTimes publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The WSJ is considered the US's preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Content available from 1984 - Current.
- Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Videos covering Arts, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health, History, Literature, Psychology and Sciences. Contains video content from 60 Minutes /CBS, PBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc.
Statistics and Data
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies. Categorized into 21 market sectors, the platform provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Data sources include market research reports as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users can access thousands of U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group up to a national level, or create custom regions, for research and studies. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides demographic information through thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790. Set up an account with your Iona email address to create interactive maps, reports and statistics down to the street level. - Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States, published annually by the federal government since 1878, is the best known statistical reference publication in the country. The Statistical Abstract is valued as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. - OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for books, papers and statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Indexes 480 complete databases with 4.5 billion+ data points produced since 1998.
Key Nursing Journals
- Evidence-Based Nursing Twelve month delay for full-text. Current citations and abstracts.
- Journal of Nursing Regulation Full-text access is available from 2019
- Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing Twelve month delay for full-text. Current citations and abstracts
Nurses as Authors
Search for Nurse as an author in CINAHL: Filter by any author is a nurse or, primary author is a nurse
Search for Nurse as an author in Pubmed:
Use the search term: nursing [ad]
This will search for "nursing" in the authors affiliated institution.
Search for Nurse as an author in other databases:
Look for these credentials: LVN, LPN, RN, BSN, MSN, ND, DNSc OR DNP
Strategies for Literature Review Searching
- Enter your subject term/s and select "Systematic Review" from the Publication Type menu
- Check the Review Articles box to retrieve literature reviews, systematic reviews, and integrative reviews.
- Check the EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) in order to retrieve mostly systematic reviews
- Selecting Meta-Analysis from the Publication Type will also retrieve systematic reviews and meta-analysis
- Check the Research box to retrieve results containing reviews
Note:
Look in the text immediately following the article title for a indication of what type of article it is, Research, Systematic Review, etc.
- Select Systematic Review as the publication type.
- Check the Review Articles box to retrieve literature reviews, systematic reviews, and integrative reviews.
- Check the EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) box in order to retrieve mostly systematic reviews
- Selecting Meta-Analysis from the Publication Type will also retrieve systematic reviews and meta-analysis
- Check the Research box to retrieve results containing reviews
Note:
Look in the text immediately following the article title for a indication of what type of article it is, Research, Systematic Review, etc.
Therapy or Etiology: Use article type filters Meta-analysis, Systemic Reviews and Random controlled trial. Add Cohort Studies [Mesh} to the search
Diagnosis: Add Sensitivity and Specificity [Mesh] to the search
Prognosis: Add Cohort Studies [Mesh] to the search
Select Advanced Search from the menu located on the upper left corner.
Enter "literature review" as an exact phrase.