Nursing
Evidence-Based Medicine Resources
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Contains the most recent reviews
This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Library (Alternate Search - Use Ebsco for Current Full-Text)) Full-text is available up to last 12 months. Use Cochrane via Ebsco to access the most current content
- TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Free version
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Using the Advanced Search screen, limit to Systemic Reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window Using the Advanced Search screen, limit to Evidence-Based Practice
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window After conducting a search, limit the "Article Type" to Systemic Review or Meta-Analysis.
- Ovid Nursing Full Text + Ovid Emcare - 2018 This link opens in a new window Click on "Limits (Expand" to select 'Evidence Based Medicine' limits.
- This link opens in a new window
- Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP)Critical Appraisal skills enable you to systematically assess the trustworthiness, relevance and results of published papers. CASP offers easy to use checklists to help you read research. Using critical appraisal skills and tools enables users of research evidence to reach their own judgements.
- Evidence-based Practice Center Reports (AHRQ) These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies.
- JAMA Rational Clinical Exam Series JAMA's series on evidence-based use of the medical history, physical examination, and testing to diagnosis disease.
- Cochrane Clinical Answers (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to research from Cochrane Reviews. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practicing healthcare professionals. The evidence is displayed in a user-friendly tabulated format that includes narratives, data, and links to graphics.
- This link opens in a new window
- Evidence Alerts (Registration Required) Articles from 126 clinical journals selected and rated for clinical relevance.
- Evidence Based Nursing Journal (Official Site) EBN systematically searches international healthcare journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research and relevance to best nursing practice. Content is critically appraised and the most relevant articles are summarised into succinct expert commentaries, focusing on the papers’ key findings and implications for nursing practice.
- Evidence Based Nursing Journal (via Proquest Database) Full-text articles available up to 12 months ago.
- Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing (Journal) With a twelve month delay
Health sciences literature review made easy by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1284211185Publication Date: 2022
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1948057891Publication Date: 2021
More Evidence Based Practice Resources
- Using PubMed in Evidence-Based PracticeThis course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®.
- Evidence-Based Practice, Step by StepThis collection of articles was authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. The purpose of this series is to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.
- Center for Evidence Based EvidenceThe CEBM is part of Oxford University's Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences. They research, practice and disseminate evidence-based medicine in health care decision making, and are committed to improving healthcare by fostering wider communication of high quality evidence, by promoting the principles of EBM through engagement, knowledge sharing, research and education.
- VA Evidence-Based Synthesis ProgramThe VA Evidence Synthesis Program (ESP) makes high-quality evidence synthesis available to improve the health and healthcare of Veterans.
- Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) ReportsThe Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), sponsors the development of these reports to assist organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of healthcare in the U.S. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature and reflect research on methodology of evidence synthesis.
- Campbell CollaborationThe Campbell Collaboration is an international social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs.
- Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP)Critical Appraisal skills enable you to systematically assess the trustworthiness, relevance and results of published papers. CASP offers easy to use checklists to help you read research. Using critical appraisal skills and tools enables users of research evidence to reach their own judgements.
- Critical Appraisal Tools from JBI Institute JBI’s critical appraisal tools assist in assessing the trustworthiness, relevance and results of published papers.
About Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
CDSR is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. A Cochrane Review is a systematic review that attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimizing bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision-making. Cochrane Reviews may be updated to reflect the findings of new evidence when it becomes available because the results of new studies can change the conclusions of a review. Cochrane Reviews are therefore valuable sources of information for those receiving and providing care, as well as for decision-makers and researchers.
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
CENTRAL is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. Most CENTRAL records are taken from PubMed and Embase, but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources, including CINAHL , ClinicalTrials.gov, and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform.
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs)
CCA provides a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practising healthcare professionals.
Describes the proposed approach for a systematic review. A protocol outlines the question that the review authors are addressing, detailing the criteria against which studies will be assessed for inclusion in the review, and describing how the authors will manage the review process.