This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using Iona University Library resources to complete projects and assignments for the Nursing program and includes articles in databases and journals.
View the department's website and find information about course offerings, program faculty, curriculum requirements, etc.
Start Your Research
Locating Background Information
What is MeSH?
Google Scholar (Search and Export Citations)
Google Scholar (www.scholar.google.com) allows you to search for relevant scholarly information across many disciplines and sources.
If you search Google Scholar on-campus, you will be automatically linked to full-text articles which are in the Library databases. From off-campus, you must link to Iona University Libraries Databases from Google Scholar:
Instructions for linking to Iona University Libraries Databases from Google Scholar
- Go to Settings (three bars on top left of the page)
- Click on Library Links
- Type in Iona University
How do Google Scholar Library Links work?
When you search Google Scholar, you'll see Find full-text @ Iona links in the results. Sometimes these links will appear to the right of the result, and other times the links will be hidden at the bottom of the result -- to unhide (or expand), click the double arrows.
Iona Library Links in Google Scholar aren't foolproof! Please keep in mind:
You still need to log in (authenticate) with your Iona user id and password after clicking Find full-text @ Iona. Full text is not guaranteed. Iona full-text holdings are constantly being updated, and sometimes Google's inventory of our catalog may not be in sync. If an article isn't available full-text, please request via ILL.
To configure exporting citations from Google Scholar to Refworks
- Go to Settings (three bars on top left of the page).
- Locate the Bibliography Manager
- Select RefWorks from the drop-down menu next to Show links to import citations into.
- Click on Save.
- When searching, click on Import into RefWorks underneath each article you want to import.
Medical Journals and AI
The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) - In their Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, Section 4 under Defining the Role of Authors and Contributors addresses the use of AI in submitted work. List of journals stating that they follow the ICMJE Recommendations.
4. Artificial Intelligence (AI)-Assisted Technology
At submission, the journal should require authors to disclose whether they used artificial intelligence (AI)-assisted technologies (such as Large Language Models [LLMs], chatbots, or image creators) in the production of submitted work. Authors who use such technology should describe, in both the cover letter and the submitted work, how they used it. Chatbots (such as ChatGPT) should not be listed as authors because they cannot be responsible for the accuracy, integrity, and originality of the work, and these responsibilities are required for authorship (see Section II.A.1). Therefore, humans are responsible for any submitted material that included the use of AI-assisted technologies. Authors should carefully review and edit the result because AI can generate authoritative-sounding output that can be incorrect, incomplete, or biased. Authors should not list AI and AI-assisted technologies as an author or co-author, nor cite AI as an author. Authors should be able to assert that there is no plagiarism in their paper, including in text and images produced by the AI. Humans must ensure there is appropriate attribution of all quoted material, including full citations. (Accessed May 18, 2023)
World Association of Medical Editors - Recommendations on ChatGPT and Chatbots in Relation to Scholarly Publications
Flanagin A, Bibbins-Domingo K, Berkwits M, Christiansen SL. Nonhuman “Authors” and Implications for the Integrity of Scientific Publication and Medical Knowledge. JAMA. 2023;329(8):637–639. doi:10.1001/jama.2023.1344
- Last Updated: Nov 13, 2023 7:43 PM
- URL: https://guides.iona.edu/nursing
- Print Page