Skip to Main Content

Research Essentials: Find Articles in Research Databases

Types of Research Database

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases cover many subjects and are a good starting point if your topic is broad or you are not sure where to start your research.

Subject Specific Databases

Subject Specific Databases are specialized databases and cover the range of individual disciplines of Iona's faculty departments. They are useful when you have narrowed down your topic to a specific subject.

News and Current Events

News and Current Event Databases include newspaper and magazine databases, and several other databases covering current and controversial issues.

eBook Databases

eBook Databases include both multidisciplinary and subject specific eBook databases.

Video Databases

Video Databases include both multidisciplinary and subject specific video databases.

Reminder: you have free access to The New York Times Academic Pass, the NYTimes.com, NYTimes.com smartphone and tablet apps, and NYTimes in Education.

Choosing a Database

Iona College Library  subscribes to over 200 online research databases that:

  • are accessible both on and off-campus
  • include millions of up-to-date articles on many topics from reputable sources and/or publications
  • include scholarly journals (peer-reviewed), newspapers, and magazines articles
  • cannot be accessed through search engines

Visit subject-specific Research Guides for suggestions on databases for your research.

Search by DOI, article title, journal name, and more.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (www.scholar.google.com) provides a simple way to search for relevant scholarly information across many disciplines and sources, such as articles, books, theses, and court opinions, from academic publishers, universities, and other websites.

If you search Google Scholar on-campus, you will be automatically linked to full-text articles which are in the Library databases. From off-campus, you must link to Iona College Library Databases from Google Scholar:

  • Go to Settings
  • Click on Library Links
  • Type in Iona College

Research Support

Need help finding articles or using the databases? The Libraries offer a wide range of research support.