A guide to assist in library research for English and Film Studies classes
- Introduction to English Research
- Film Studies Resources
- Citing Sources in MLA, 9th Edition
- Digitized Primary Sources for Literary History and ResearchToggle Dropdown
- ShakespeareToggle Dropdown
- Research Essentials Guide This link opens in a new window
- Getting More Help
This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using Iona University Library resources to complete projects and assignments for the Film Studies Program, offered through the English Department in the School of Arts and Science.
View the department's website to find information about course offerings, program faculty, curriculum requirements, etc.
Key Journal Titles for the Subject
- CinéasteAmerica's leading magazine on the art and politics of the cinema; Available from 1990-present on EBSCOhost
- ScopeScope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham, England. Most issues are available free of charge
- Screen DigestAvailable from 1997-present through Gale
- Screen FinanceExcellent source for articles on finance and economic issues related to the film industry; Available from 1998-2003 through Business & Co Resource Center
- Screen InternationalScreen International is the voice of the international film industry; Available from 2000-present through LexisNexis
- Sight & Sound: The International Film MagazinePublished by the British Film Institute (BFI); Available from 1989-present on ProQuest
Core Databases for the Subject
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines and other resources covering multidisciplinary topics.
- IMDB (Internet Movie Database)IMDB, a subsidiary of Amazon, is the premier source for information related to films, television programs, actors, production crew personnel, video games and fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and business. Journal coverage generally ends 3-5 years before the current year.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowSAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present.
Salem Press. Critical Insights: Film
Critical Insights: Film focuses on a single film classic or a director's body of work, providing detailed insight and contextual analysis about each subject.
Audio / Visual Resources
- HippoCampus.orgHippoCampus.org offers a catalog of streaming video resources across subject areas designed in the spirit of the Open Educational Resources initiative. The content is aimed at middle and high-school teachers and college professors.
- Library of Congress, Motion Picture & Television Reading Room, American Memory CollectionSeveral hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library's American Memory collections
- The Moving Image ArchiveDownload or listen to free movies, films, and videos through the Moving Image Archive. This library contains digital movies uploaded by its users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. The organization asserts that this collection is free and open for everyone to use. Their goal in digitizing these movies and putting them online is to provide easy access to a rich and fascinating core collection of archival films.
- PBS Online VideoOne of the most well-respected producers of educational videos and television programing, PBS offers a variety of videos online for limited viewing.
- SnagFilms.comOffers a collection of independent movies and documentaries on demand, for free, and available to share.
Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences: Collections
- Oral History CollectionSince 2012 the Academy’s Visual History Program has been recording oral histories on HD born-digital video. With nearly 120 interviews recorded and a growing number of interviews coming to the archive from other organizations, the Academy seeks to document diverse representatives from a wide variety of film professions.
- Last Updated: May 25, 2023 2:18 PM
- URL: https://guides.iona.edu/EnglishGuide
- Print Page
Tags: digitized primary sources, ENG 308, ENG 310, ENG 712, FPA 207, mla, refworks, Shakespeare