Research Essentials

Now that you've chosen your topic, you'll need to start gathering appropriate sources for your research project. Make sure to check your syllabus or ask your teacher to confirm what types of sources are required for the assignment and the number of required sources. For example, do the resources need to be peer reviewed or from within a specific time period? Do you need to cite a certain number of scholarly articles, news articles, or book chapters? How flexible is your professor about using online sources, such as government websites or academic blogs?

After establishing the assignment's parameters, you may start seeking out books, articles, and eBooks using WorldCat and the library's many databases. 

WorldCat is the database for finding books, articles, and videos in the Iona University Libraries catalog. WorldCat not only searches Iona University Libraries collection, but the collections of other libraries.

If you want an item that Iona doesn't own, request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

The WorldCat search bar is found in the middle of the Libraries home page. While this guide provides an overview of using WorldCat, the Iona WorldCat Research Guide is a thorough introduction to WorldCat, highlighting features of the catalog you can leverage to ease your research. The links below redirect to relevant pages on the Iona WorldCat Research Guide.

• Finding books in WorldCat

• Finding articles in WorldCat

• Generating citations in WorldCat

More information about citations can be found on the Citing Sources Research Guide.

The video below provides a brief introduction to search filters in WorldCat and finding a book in the library.

Find Your Course Reserves
Get Help Searching Iona WorldCat 

Follow the search steps above.  In the "Looking for a" section, click on eBook.

To access an eBook click on View eBook.   You will be asked for your Iona network credentials to access many eBooks.

You may also visit eBook databases directly and search by the specific eBook database collection.

Interlibrary Loan

The book record will read "At other libraries worldwide" instead of Available, Iona University Libraries. 

Click on the title of the book and then click the maroon Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button located to the right of the book's information, under Access Options.

Fill out the brief form to request the book.  You will receive an email if and when the book is available.  Please allow at least 7 days for the book to arrive.  Requests for recently published textbooks are often denied by other lending libraries.  Please visit the Interlibrary Loan policy page for further information.

Note:  Partner lending libraries usually do NOT lend eBooks, only print books.