Research Essentials

When will the changes to EBSCOhost interface take place?

The new interface will be available on the library's subscription EBSCO databases effective Wednesday, December 18. Please check back for updates on when access to the redesigned interface will be available.

How do I know if a database I use regularly is hosted by EBSCO?
Iona University Libraries EBSCO hosted databases. 

What does the new interface look like? 
You can watch this video for more information about the upgrades and how to use the new interface.  More information is available at Learn more about the redesign  

Why is EBSCO changing the interface?

Ebsco redesigned the EBSCOhost experience and user interface to meet evolving user expectations for accessing, searching, choosing and using resources. Ebsco is introducing many new features including personalized dashboards, new ways to share and save resources, reading eBooks, and much more.

What features are changing?

Dashboard: You can more easily save resources and organize them by project and the dashboard will be located to the left side of the search screen.

Filters: Filters to narrow your results are moving from the left-hand side of the page to the top, underneath the search bar.

Full-text access: Language around full-text access is changing and is easier to use with a drop-down menu of access options.

Sharing and citing a resource: The icons are now located at the top of the page with abbreviated icons instead of the right side of the page.

Exporting a Resource: Using the Cite icon, select the Export a Citation tab to export. 

Search History: Now located on the left of the screen accessed with the Recent Activity link. 

What is staying the same?
There is no change to the content hosted in each database. The homepage for each database will look different, but the functionality of the search boxes is the same. The advanced search page will look familiar and still allow you to use AND and OR to connect your keywords into search phrases. The subject heading and controlled vocabulary system will continue to be the same, there are no changes to MeSH or PsycInfo subject terms.

Please note that access to Ebscohost via Iona University subscriptions may have some local customization.  The information linked from below are intended to give you a general idea of the redesigned interface. 

• The New EBSCOhost Interface - Basic Search

• The New EBSCOhost Interface - Advanced Search

• Applying Limiters and Filters in the New EBSCO Interfaces

• Using the Bookmark Feature in the New EBSCO Interfaces

• Sharing Articles and eBooks in the New EBSCO Interfaces

• How to Create and Manage a MyEBSCO Account

• Creating Projects in the New EBSCO Interfaces

• Translating Online Full Text in the New EBSCO Interfaces

• Searching Publications in the New EBSCOhost Interface

• Browsing Subjects in the New EBSCOhost Interface

• Using CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings in the new EBSCOhost Interface

• Using the Text-to-Speech feature in the New EBSCO Interfaces to read full text

• Using the Cite and Export Tool in the New EBSCO Interfaces