- Iona University
- Research Guides
- Career Exploration
- Industry Research
Career Exploration
Iona University Libraries Guide to Career Exploration
Industry
An industry is a collection of companies producing the same product or service.
Learning about the trends in a particular industry will round out your understanding of a company's role. Researching an industry will help you:
Learn who a company's competitor is and understand the positives and negatives of the competitors.
Understand the larger picture of the industry rather than simply focusing on a company,
Determine which companies are growing and then target your applications to these.
Industry reports are a good starting point; then, check out industry news.
Library Databases for Industry Research
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journals and other sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day. - Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and other content from scholarly and trade journals covering the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, statistics, and industry trends. - Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share and financial reports, industry rankings, products and brands, marketing data, and more. Contains articles and abstracts from journals and news sources. - First Research Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Industry profiles that includes an overview, the competitive landscape, financials, industry indicators, sales and marketing, and more. - Insurance & Liability (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Insurance & Liability Collection connects researchers to articles from insurance industry related journals, which are updated daily and include: Best’s Review, Business Insurance Claims, Employee Benefit Plan Review, National Underwriter Life & Health, Pensions & Investments, Risk Management, and Journal of Pension Planning & Compliance. - Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sports Market Analytics is an online, continuously updated nationwide sports marketing analytics database with four reporting formats to accommodate user needs: Single Sport Analytics, Subject Analytics, Sport Summaries, and Sports Venue Analytics. It offers an all-encompassing perspective on the sports business, drawing upon syndicated and custom proprietary market research, industry reports, and licensed industry articles. - Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mining information from the Dun & Bradstreet (now a subsidiary of Mergent, Inc.) database of financial information on 60 million+ companies from 209 countries around the world, Key Business Ratios (KBR) can be used to assess a firm's strengths and weaknesses relative to competing firms or an entire industry.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics - Industries at a GlanceA brief overview of the industry, workforce and earnings statistics, industry-specific pricing information and workplace trends.
- ValueLine Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on 1700+ U.S. stocks including projections and company and industry commentary. New data issued weekly. Iona subscription is limited to 3 users at a time; to the 'Investment Survey' section only.