- Iona University
- Research Guides
- Career Exploration
- Occupational Resources
Career Exploration
Iona Library Workshops
- Current Library WorkshopsA list of Iona Libraries' current workshop offerings.
Resources Outside Iona
- Websites
- Government and Government Sponsored Websites
- NY, NJ, & CT - Department of Labor
- Public Library Resources
Individual Companies' Websites
Company’s mission statement
Company's vision
Company's values
- GlassdoorEmployee reported information. Company Reviews, Company Salaries
- The MuseCompany Profiles
- FishbowlProfessional Community
- Going ConcernAccounting news: Benefits, Salary, Interviews, Culture
A good starting point is government sources. They will provide an overview of a career or industry, forecast potential growth, and provide you with the skills needed to enter a particular field.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new windowThe Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for hundreds of professions and trades.
- O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new windowThe O*NET database contains hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors on almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated from input by a broad range of workers in each occupation.
- Career One StopSource for career exploration, training, and jobs from the U.S. Department of Labor.
- Industries at a GlanceProduced by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- My Next MoveAn interactive tool sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. It includes job information, necessary skills for a field, and salary information.
- MedlinePlus - Health OccupationsMedlinePlus is a source from the US National Library of Medicine.
- Career OutlookHandbook produced by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
New York State
JobZone - A tool to help you plan and organzine your search.
Resumes, Cover Letters, and Job Applications
New Jersey State
Connecticut State
Access your local public library for career-related databases and assistance.
Access to the NYPL (New York Public Library) is available to anyone who lives, works, attends schools, or owns property in New York State.
Access to the WLS (Westchester Library System) is available to anyone who lives, works, attends school, or owns property in Westchester County.
-
The NYPL has a Career Services page to assist you with all the stages of job searching: Resumes & Cover Letters, Interview Prep, Networking, Career Exploration, and more!
-
LinkedInLearning (formerly Lynda.com) offers courses, videos, and tutorials on career development (career management, job searching, and self-promotion). LinkedIn Learning is fee-based but available for free with an NYPL or WLS library card.
-
Tutor.com/Westchester (a service from The Princeton Review) is available through the WLS library system. Job-searching tutors can work with you on your resume, cover letters, and interview prep.
-
WLS Career Coaching Services offers workshops and special programs to help manage your career path.
- Last Updated: Jul 8, 2024 1:45 PM
- URL: https://guides.iona.edu/careerresearch
- Print Page