Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual Resources and Research Support: Database Troubleshooting

This guide describes how to virtually access library services and research support.

Off-Campus Access to e-resources

Iona College Libraries databases automatically authenticate access when you are on-campus, however, off-campus users must log-in with their Iona Computer ID and password.

When accessing a database from off-campus you will get a pop-up window asking for your Iona Computer ID and Password (the same ID and password you use to log-in to email, Blackboard, and on-campus lab computers and WiFi.

If you cannot log-in to access an article, e-book, streaming media, or database, review the following troubleshooting steps in this order.

#1. Iona Computer ID & Password

#2. Web Browser

  • Try opening the database from a different web browser (e.g. Explorer, Chrome, Mozilla, Safari, etc.).
  • Clear the browser's history and cache, and close and reopen the browser.  Contact the Help Desk if you need assistance with this or to see if they are aware of any browser issues.

#3. Database

  • Visit the A-Z Databases list and test your Iona Computer ID log-in by accessing any of the databases listed in the Popular Databases section (right-hand side of the page).  If you CAN access one of the Popular Databases, then the original databases may have been the problem.

#4. Library Catalog - Iona WorldCat

  • If you're trying to access an article or e-book from the Library Catalog (Quick Find box), note the name of the database that contains that resource.  Click on the title of the item and you will see a list of links that contain the database name.
  • Locate that database on the A-Z Databases list and click on its link.
  • Search for the article, e-book, etc., in that database.

#5. Java

  • Many databases require the most up-to-date Java in order to run.  Check whether you are receiving an error message that mentions Java.

#6. EZProxy

  • Off-Campus: If you get an error message regarding EZProxy, please email Jill Gross.  Please include the name of the resource and the link you were using to access it.
  • On-Campus: Copy the link you are trying to use into a new browser window, and delete all the text before the first "=" sign (e.g. http://rocky.iona.edu:2048/login?url=).  The edited link should get you to the resource you want to access.  Please contact Jill Gross with the error.

#7. Payment - Don't

#8. Firewall

  • Large companies and other organizations often have strong firewall systems on their networks that prevent access to outside databases.  If that is the case, you will see a message stating that access to the desired server or URL is not allowed.
  • You will need to contact the network administrator at your company or organization for access or wait until you can access from an alternate network.

Research Support

Need help finding articles or using the databases? The Libraries offer a wide range of research support.