Computer Science
Subject Guide for Computer Science
Welcome
This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using Iona University Library resources to complete projects and assignments for Computer Science and includes reference works, articles in databases, and journals.
Visit the Research Essentials Guide; to better understand the research process, including how to find books and articles, evaluate information sources, avoid plagiarism, and properly cite sources when you write or speak.
View the department's website and find information about course offerings, program faculty, curriculum requirements, etc.
Search for articles (Computer Science)
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text articles published by ACM, and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. Iona subscribes to: ACM Digital Library and Master SIG. - Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. - IEEE Explore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publisher portal providing access and indexed searching for IEEE journals. Iona subscribes to IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering. - ScienceDirect (via SciVerse) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for peer-reviewed, scholarly content to include over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books that span major scientific disciplines. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present. - Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, and sales. - SciTech Connect This link opens in a new windowThis search interface provides free public access to 208,000+ full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic formats.
- Springer Open This link opens in a new windowThis portal searches a collection of fully open-access peer-reviewed journals, as well as some open-access ebooks which are available through Springer.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies. Categorized into 21 market sectors, the platform provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Data sources include market research reports as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. - Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) of the USA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Iona subscribes to this digital portal for search and retrieval of PNAS materials. The National Academy of Sciences supports discovery in the biological, physical and social sciences - Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from sources in criminology; criminal justice; criminal law; forensic sciences; history of crime; probation and parole; etc. - DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowPortal to articles from free, full-text, scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Where Are the Library Books on Computer Science?
- 003 Systems
- 004 Data processing, Computer science
- 005 Computer programming, programs, data security
- 006.3 Artificial intelligence
- 794.8 Computer Games
The 000-006 books are housed in the Helen T. Arrigoni Library and Technology Center.
Search the Library Catalog
ACM Articles
- Top Downloaded ACM Queue Articles Written by highly accomplished software engineers with their fingers on the pulse of innovation, ACM Queue taps readers into the latest trends, techniques, and technologies that will keep them ahead of the curve. Queue delivers not just technical articles focusing on today’s problems, but lively video chats, roundtables, case studies, and columns.
Search for articles (multi-subject)
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals, magazines and other resources covering multidisciplinary topics. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles. - General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, reports and daily updates on a variety of topics: business, technology, current events, environmental issues, health care, humanities, politics, and many more.
Computer Science Journals and News
- General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, reports and daily updates on a variety of topics: business, technology, current events, environmental issues, health care, humanities, politics, and many more. - The New York Times (1980 - Current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Often considered the official U.S. newspaper, the NYTimes publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The WSJ is considered the US's preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Content available from 1984 - Current. - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering many current social issues, features updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, images and other resources. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Congressional Quarterly reports addressing controversial current issues. Includes historical perspective, recent developments, statistics, opposing viewpoints, and sources for additional research. - Flipster Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital newsstand that offers a browse-able access to popular magazines such as Bloomberg Businessweek, Forbes, Fortune, and The New Yorker.
Magazines can be downloaded to Android™ phones and tablets, Apple® phones and tables, and Kindle Fire tablets for offline reading.