Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 110, 120, 122 Communication Skills: Writing: Current Events & Controversial Issues - eResources

Information Sources for News, Current Events, and Controversial Issues

  Imagine you are planning to write a paper on race-based barriers to gainful employment or to professional advancement.

  Possible keywords (terms) to use when searching for books and/or articles::
  "racial inequality" OR "racial bias" OR "racial discrimination" 

  AND 

  "career advancement" OR "professional advancement"


Tip: The main trick to searching in any database is work with keywords by trying different combinations and synonyms to see what new results come up each time you make a change.

eBooks

Please refer to the eBooks tab on the Research Essentials guide.
https://guides.iona.edu/c.php?g=942219&p=7670746

Articles in Research Databases

You can search for articles in WorldCat Discovery the same way as you search for books by checking off the box in front of ”Articles” instead of "Books." 

Another place to find excellent articles is to search in the Research Databases A to Z list. Several databases are dedicated to current or controversial issues with articles from sources, such as articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.

To access the current events databases, select News and Current Events from the "All Subjects" drop-down menu on the left side of the A to Z list page.


Start with these databases listed on the News and Current Events page:

US Newsstream
Searches the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

CQ Researcher
Reports address controversial current issues. Includes historical perspective, recent developments, statistics, opposing viewpoints, and sources for additional research.

New York Times (1980 - Current)
Publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences.

Opposing Viewpoints
Covers many current social issues, features updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, images and other resources.

Reminder: you have free access to  The New York Times Academic Pass, the NYTimes.com, NYTimes.com smartphone and tablet apps, and NYTimes In Education.

Videos

On the A to Z list of Databases, under the heading "Popular Databases," on the right hand side of the page, search in Video Sources to get access to videos relevant to academic subjects, documentaries, interviews, besides feature films.