Chemistry & Biochemistry

Maintained by the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, this database includes NMR, IR, and MS data for tens of thousands of compounds. Free access. A request is made that users not download more than 50 files per day and that you credit them if data is used in publication or presentation.

The chemical structure database provides fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

This volume indexes physicochemical and thermodynamic data compilations from the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council. Full-text viewable through HathiTrust.

Searchable database of European patents.

The Smithsonian Physical Tables consists of tables of data of general interest to scientists and engineers and of particular interest to physicists. In 2003, Knovel converted the Tables into full-text searchable electronic format.

Knovel Critical Tables contain tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties compiled from publicly-available web sources and non-copyrighted publications. The physical property tables include 21,000 organic and inorganic compounds and pure substances, the solvent property tables include 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables include over 15,000 compounds.

Includes IR, mass spec, and UV spectra for thousands of compounds. Includes IR, mass spec, and UV spectra for thousands of compounds.

Provides numerous chemical synonyms, structures, regulatory list information, and links to other databases containing information about chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases.

NIST Standard Reference Database #78. The spectroscopic data may be selected and displayed according to wavelengths or energy levels by choosing either spectral lines and associated energy levels. Additional information included—the National Institute of Standards % Technology (NIST).

An open access textbook.

​A biological and chemical compounds database with links to PubMed bibliographical references.

SpectroscopyNOW.com, a Community of Interest website, includes topics such as NMR, IR, UV, and mass spec. Access (free) to online e-zine Spectral Lines. Includes discussion forums and links to other spectroscopy-related websites, including online databases of spectral data.

Searchable database of U.S. patents.

Wolfram|Alpha is an excellent resource for learning about chemical reactions.