Nursing
Welcome
This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using Iona University Library resources to complete projects and assignments for the Nursing program and includes articles in databases and journals.
View the department's website and find information about course offerings, program faculty, curriculum requirements, etc.
Start Your Research
- Research EssentialsThis is your guide to better understanding the college research process, including how to find books and articles, evaluate information sources, avoid plagiarism, and properly cite sources when you write.
- Online Research: Tips for Effective Search Strategies (Youtube)This video covers usings boolean operators, quotation marks and asterisk when searching databases.
Locating Background Information
- Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityResource for healthcare-related data, factsheets, and evidence-based practice center reports.
- U.S. Preventative Services TaskforceThe Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of people nationwide by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
- National Library of Medicine BookshelfFree access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Browse book titles or search within the books.
- VA Evidence-Based Synthesis ProgramThe VA Evidence Synthesis Program (ESP) makes high-quality evidence synthesis available to improve the health and healthcare of Veterans.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Ebook versions of encyclopedias and reference works covering most subjects, as well as a collection of classic literature and criticisms.
- MedlinePLUSMedlinePlus is an online health information resource created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine for patients. Sourced from 500 selected organizations, it offers information on health topics, human genetics, medical tests, medications, dietary supplements, and healthy recipes.
- Healthy People 2030Healthy People identifies public health priorities to help individuals, organizations, and communities across the United States improve health and well-being. Healthy People 2030 builds on knowledge gained over the last 4 decades.
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This reference source contains definitions and articles on a number of health and wellness-related topics, as well as news articles and journal articles.
Literature Reviews
- Sample: Workplace Hazards Faced by Nursing Assistants in the United States: A Focused Literature ReviewWalton AL, Rogers B. Workplace Hazards Faced by Nursing Assistants in the United States: A Focused Literature Review. Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2017 May 19;14(5):544. doi: 10.3390/ijerph14050544. PMID: 28534859; PMCID: PMC5451994.
- Sample: Nurse turnover: a literature reviewHayes LJ, O'Brien-Pallas L, Duffield C, Shamian J, Buchan J, Hughes F, Spence Laschinger HK, North N, Stone PW. Nurse turnover: a literature review. Int J Nurs Stud. 2006 Feb;43(2):237-63. doi: 10.1016/j.ijnurstu.2005.02.007. PMID: 15878771.
- Literature ReviewsThis site from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill will explain what literature reviews are and offer insights into the form and construction of literature reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate StudentsThis open, peer-reviewed textbook is designed for students in graduate-level nursing and education programs. From developing a research question to locating and evaluating sources to writing a sample literature review using appropriate publication guidelines, readers will be guided through the process.
What is MeSH?
- MEDLINE: Using MeSH (Video)Review what MeSH is, why you would use it, and how to search using MeSH.
Nursing Associations
- List of State, National and International Nursing Associationshttps://nurse.org/orgs.shtml
Google Scholar (Search and Export Citations)
Google Scholar (www.scholar.google.com) allows you to search for relevant scholarly information across many disciplines and sources.
If you search Google Scholar on-campus, you will be automatically linked to full-text articles which are in the Library databases. From off-campus, you must link to Iona University Libraries Databases from Google Scholar:
Instructions for linking to Iona University Libraries Databases from Google Scholar
- Go to Settings (three bars on top left of the page)
- Click on Library Links
- Type in Iona University
How do Google Scholar Library Links work?
When you search Google Scholar, you'll see Find full-text @ Iona links in the results. Sometimes these links will appear to the right of the result, and other times the links will be hidden at the bottom of the result -- to unhide (or expand), click the double arrows.
Iona Library Links in Google Scholar aren't foolproof! Please keep in mind:
You still need to log in (authenticate) with your Iona user id and password after clicking Find full-text @ Iona. Full text is not guaranteed. Iona full-text holdings are constantly being updated, and sometimes Google's inventory of our catalog may not be in sync. If an article isn't available full-text, please request via ILL.
To configure exporting citations from Google Scholar to Refworks
- Go to Settings (three bars on top left of the page).
- Locate the Bibliography Manager
- Select RefWorks from the drop-down menu next to Show links to import citations into.
- Click on Save.
- When searching, click on Import into RefWorks underneath each article you want to import.
Medical Journals and AI
The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) - In their Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, Section 4 under Defining the Role of Authors and Contributors addresses the use of AI in submitted work. List of journals stating that they follow the ICMJE Recommendations.
COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics) statement on Authorship and AI tools.
World Association of Medical Editors - Recommendations on ChatGPT and Chatbots in Relation to Scholarly Publications
Flanagin A, Bibbins-Domingo K, Berkwits M, Christiansen SL. Nonhuman “Authors” and Implications for the Integrity of Scientific Publication and Medical Knowledge. JAMA. 2023;329(8):637–639. https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2023.1344