Skip to main content

Faculty Resources: Video Collections at Iona

Online Video Subscriptions

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive database of streaming videos relevant to a variety of academic subjects including, art, business, history, communications, education, psychology, language studies, anthropology, etc.

American Masters
American Masters, THIRTEEN’s award-winning biography series, celebrates our arts and culture. Launched in 1986, the series has set the standard for documentary film profiles, accruing widespread critical acclaim. The American Masters website is now presenting previously unreleased interviews filmed for the series' documentaries: 2,156 tapes, approximately 1,388 digitized hours, 800-plus interviews and counting.

Art & Design in Video
This database consists of streaming videos focusing on primary source artworks in a broad range of genres and formats with commentary that explores the significance of the works in context.

Art & Design in Video
This database consists of streaming videos focusing on primary source artworks in a broad range of genres and formats with commentary that explores the significance of the works in context.

Counseling and Psychology in Video
This database consists of streaming videos focusing on the "study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling."

Diversity in Video
This database consists of streaming videos focusing on the "study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling."

DramaOnline
This database includes BBC Drama Films and Documentaries, which features film adaptations of classic plays from Sophocles and Shakespeare as well as contemporary plays by writers to include Michael Frayn and Joe Penhall. 

Films on Demand: History
Films on Demand: History offers access to streaming video content in the form of documentaries, feature films, lectures and interviews, and newsreels from producers to include A&E, BBC, HBO, History Education, Ken Burns, and PBS.

Film Platform
Three films are available via this streaming media platform: Life, Animated Inequality for All, and Dolores. Life, Animated is the inspirational story of Owen Suskind, a young man who was unable to speak as a child until he and his family discovered a unique way to communicate by immersing themselves in the world of classic Disney animated films. Inequality for All is a documentary that explores the country's widening income inequality. Dolores documents the life of Dolores Huerta who fought alongside Cesar Chavez for racial and labor justice.

Health Sciences in Video
This database defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues through hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.

History in Video
History in Video provides a multidisciplinary collection of films with a broad range of titles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

JoVE General Laboratory Techniques
Science Education from JoVE offers a database of video collections with laboratory "How To" videos for introductory science classes.

Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to 26,000 films from 800 production companies. Its focus is on high-quality, educational content. Award-winning documentaries and feature films from producers to include the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, Strand New Day Films, PBS, The Great Courses, California Newsreel and Shout Factory are all included in the library.

Literature and Language in Video
This collection contains interviews, biographies, and surveys to present a variety of linguistic, cultural, and literary traditions in a way that allows users to explore and analyze themes and trends from around the world.

Music and Performing Arts in Video
Combines audio and video resources from a variety of time periods, from hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an environment for the teaching of music and the performing arts.

Personal Interest Videos
This collection of films is designed for leisure viewing and includes how-to videos on cooking, decorative arts and home improvement as well as international travel documentaries for those going abroad.

Science and Engineering in Video
The collection of films will cover Environmental Studies, Natural History, and the Physical and Biological Sciences-- including coverage of Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Geology, Oceanography, Ecology, Astronomy, and Geography.

Swank Digital Campus
Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Unlimited simultaneous streaming is allowed.

Social Sciences in Video
The collection of films focus on materials that facilitate exploration into humanity’s interpersonal nature across politics, the criminal justice system, business, education, media studies, and more.