Communication Sciences & Disorders

Locating EVP Articles

CINAHL:
Limit your results by going to the Advanced Search page and check the box next to Evidence-based Practice in the limit section.

ProQuest's Nursing & Allied Health:
Limit your results by going to the Advanced Search page, scroll down to Document Type and select Evidence Based Healthcare.

MEDLINE:
Limit your results by going to the Advanced Search page, scroll down to Publication Type and select clinical trials, systematic reviews, comparative studies or meta-analysis.

PUBMED:

Use the Article Type filters on the left sidebar to limit your search to Meta-Analysis, Systematic Reviews or Randomized Control Trials.

PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES:

Limit your results by going to the Advanced Search page, scroll down to Methodology Type and select Meta-Analysis or Systemic Review.

Linguistics Database:

Using Advanced Search enter Meta-Analysis, Systemic Review or Randomized Control Trial in a search term box.

speechBITE

A database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. Provides access to citations and, where possible, abstracts from systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, non-randomised controlled trials, single-case experimental designs and case series. Also indexes clinical practice guidelines of relevance to speech pathology practice. speechBITE provides ratings on the PEDro-P scale for randomised and non-randomised controlled trials.

Ovid Nursing Full-Text and Ovid Emcare

Using Limits, select Evidence Based Medicine from the EBM pull-down menu.

Cochrane Library

ASHA Evidence Maps
ASHA's Evidence Maps provide clinicians, researchers, clients, and caregivers with tools and guidance to engage in evidence-based decision making. Highlights the importance of the three components of EBP: External Scientific Evidence, Clinical Expertise, and Client/Patient/Caregiver Perspectives.

Learn more about Evidence-Based Practice

EVP Resources from ASHA
Evidence-Based Practice Tools for Practicing Clinicians (Video)
What does evidence-based practice (EBP) mean to an audiologist or speech-language pathologist? This video, provided by ASHA’s National Center for Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders (N-CEP), guides clinicians in the first steps of implementing evidence-based practice into the clinical decision-making process. The video reviews the definition and components of EBP, describes the steps of the EBP process, and provides time-saving tools and clinical scenarios to help integrate evidence into a clinician’s clinical practice.
Introduction to EVP from Duke University (Tutorial)
How to Search for External Evidence in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD)
Understanding Research Designs and External Scientific Evidence (ASHA)
Evidence Maps from ASHA
ASHA/N-CEP Evidence-Based Systematic Reviews
Lists ASHA's National Center for Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders (N-CEP) conducted evidence-based systematic reviews (EBSRs) and clinical practice guidelines.

What are the levels of evidence?
It is therefore important to be able to determine which evidence is the most authoritative. So-called ‘levels of evidence’ are used for this purpose and specify a hierarchical order for various research designs based on their internal validity.
Pyramid of Evidence