Mathematics & Physics: Home
Welcome
This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using Iona University Library resources to complete projects and assignments for the Mathematics & Physics Department and includes important reference works, articles in databases, and journals.
View the department's website and find information about course offerings, program faculty, curriculum requirements, etc.
Search the Catalog
Where Are the Library Books on Math and Physics?
Books on Physics are found in Dewey Decimal Number sections:
510s -- Mathematics
520s -- Astronomy
530s -- Physics
The 500s are found in Ryan Library, 3rd Floor, West Wing. Please ask Library staff or student workers for assistance if you cannot find the book(s).
Gale eBooks Reference Library
- Gale eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources across disciplines. A great place to start!
Start Your Research with eBooks
- eBook Collection on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Reference books, scholarly monographs, novels, manuals, etc. available in ebook format. - Skillport (Books 24x7) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and streaming video from the following collections: BusinessPro, covering business skills, management and strategy; Executive Summaries; and IT and Desktop Videos, which are short, 3-5 minutes in length, on-demand instructional videos covering a variety of topics geared toward learners that already have some familiarity with the software or hardware.
Math Websites
Plus Magazine is an internet magazine which provides articles and podcasts on any aspect of mathematics from top mathematicians and science writers. It covers topics as diverse as art, medicine, cosmology and sports. Search for it on Google.
ScienceDailyFollow has a good selection of the latest research news and top science headlines! Search for it on Google.
Physics Websites
--Two excellent websites to visit if you are interested in learning about women's journeys to working in the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, NASA, and the careers women occupy working for NASA are Women at NASA and NASA Women of STEM.
--The purpose of the American Astronomical Society's WorldWide Telescope project is to enable the seamless visualization and sharing of scientific data and stories from major telescopes, observatories, and institutions among students and researchers, through science museums and full-dome immersive planetariums, and in scholarly publications.
--Physics World is the world's leading physics magazine.
--The Astronomy Center is a collection of digital resources for college-level introductory astronomy faculty and students. Astronomy Center created by the American Association of Physics Teachers, and the National Science Foundation.
Search for these websites using Google.
Databases for Mathematics & Physics Articles
- arXiv.org: Computing Research Repository (CoRR)Open access to e-prints in the Computer Science. Owned and operated by Cornell University. the CoRR subcollection is sponsored by ACM, the arXiv.org e-Print archive, NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library), and AAAI.
- EBSCO (all collections) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks covering multidisciplinary subjects from all Ebsco databases. - Wilson Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from 350+ journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. - ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and documents related to education research, searching scholarly and trade journal articles. - MathSciNet: American Mathematical Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Content includes almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present. - ScienceDirect (via SciVerse) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for peer-reviewed, scholarly content to include over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books that span major scientific disciplines.
Database Search Tips
Here are tips for better search results in databases.
Use connectors: and, or, not (Boolean)
brother and sister searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.
brother or sister searches for one or all, but both are not required.
brother not sister searches for occurrences of the word ‘brother’ without use of the word ‘sister.’
(brother not sister) and cousin
searches for occurrences of the word ‘brother’ without use of the word ‘sister', then also requires the word ‘cousin’
Truncation: adding * at the end of the base of a word before its variant spellings
math* searches for math, mathematics, mathematical