Biology
Iona University Libraries Research Guide on Biology
Databases
The databases listed are some of the most popular used by students doing research for their Biology courses.
Additional databases may be found on the A-Z Database page.
Depending on your topic, you may want to explore other resources using the tabs on the left side of the guide.
Remember, you can always Contact a librarian for help!
- JoVE Basic Biology This link opens in a new windowJoVE produces and provides access to science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education.
- JoVE Advanced Biology This link opens in a new windowJoVE produces and provides access to science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education.
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowArticles from ProQuest Biological Sciences database covers a range of biology-related topics, such as: Biological chemistry, Biophysics, Botany, Cytology and histology, Environmental studies, Microbiology, Microscopy, and Zoology.
- ScienceDirect (via SciVerse) This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for peer-reviewed, scholarly content to include over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books that span major scientific disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC provides access to 150+ journals. (Note: Many journals have a six month to one year delay period before issues become available.)
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Science Journals™ is designed for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Journals in this database cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, and Chemistry.
- General Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals providing information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
- Annual Reviews: A nonprofit Scientific Publisher This link opens in a new window
Summaries evaluate recently released scientific research. Iona offers full-text access to reports for disciplines such as: biochemistry, developmental biology, ecology, environmental resources, genetics, genomics, microbiology, physical chemistry, physiology and psychology.
- JoVE - The Journal of Video Experiment This link opens in a new windowA video library teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations. The JoVE database offers video collections with laboratory "How To" videos for introductory and advanced science classes.
- Science and Engineering in Video This link opens in a new windowThe collection of films will cover Environmental Studies, Natural History, and the Physical and Biological Sciences-- including coverage of Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Geology, Oceanography, Ecology, Astronomy, and Geography.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Science Journals™ is designed for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Journals in this database cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, and Chemistry.
- ScienceDirect (via SciVerse) This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for peer-reviewed, scholarly content to include over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books that span major scientific disciplines.
- EBSCO (all collections) This link opens in a new windowArticles and ebooks covering multidisciplinary subjects from all Ebsco databases.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines and other resources covering multidisciplinary topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowEbook versions of encyclopedias and reference works covering most subjects, as well as a collection of classic literature and criticisms.
- eBook Collection on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowReference books, scholarly monographs, novels, manuals, etc. available in ebook format.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and business. Journal coverage generally ends 3-5 years before the current year.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowSAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present.
- Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new windowVideos covering Arts, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health, History, Literature, Psychology and Sciences. Contains video content from 60 Minutes /CBS, PBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to a variety of films. Its focus is on high-quality, educational content. Award-winning documentaries and feature films from producers like Media Education Foundation, Strand New Day Films, PBS, The Great Courses, California Newsreel and Shout Factory are all included in the library.