Education

AAHPERD supports and assists professionals involved in physical education, recreation, fitness, sport and coaching, dance, health education and promotion. It is an alliance of five national associations, including American Association for Health Education (AAHE), American Association for Physical Activity and Recreation (AAPAR), National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE), and the National Dance Association (NDA). Links are provided for each.

AAPT is a professional association of scientists dedicated to dedicated to improving physics education.

Founded in 1865, The American Association of School Administrators is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA members range from superintendents and senior level school administrators to professors and aspiring school system leaders.

The American Association of School Librarians advocates excellence in the school library field. AASL works to ensure that all members of the school library field participate as active partners in the teaching/learning process, connect learners with ideas and information, and prepare students for life-long learning, informed decision-making, a love of reading, and the use of information technologies.

The Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) is a professional association of thousands of educators and others whose activities are directed toward improving instruction through technology.

Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) is the only national education association dedicated exclusively to those in the middle grades. This site includes reports and policy briefs available online.

ASCD is a membership organization that develops programs, products, and services essential to the way educators learn, teach, and lead.

Founded in 1981, the AACE is an international, not-for-profit, educational organization with the mission of advancing Information Technology in Education and E-Learning research, development, learning, and its practical application.

The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving the educational success of individuals with disabilities and/or gifts and talents. Click on the "Professional Development" tab for instructional strategies in specific subject areas, information on current special education topics, and more, including the SpecialEdCareers.org link.

Founded in 1956, IRA has been a nonprofit, global network of individuals and institutions committed to worldwide literacy. Under "Resources," you can find lesson plans, reading lists, resources by topic, and a career center.

The ISTE strives to ensure that technology improves learning and teaching in order to help more students achieve their full potential. Their website includes information on National Educational Technology Standards (NETS), a variety of reports available as free downloads, and a career center.

The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) is an organization of parents, teachers, educators, other professionals, who address the "unique needs of children and youth with demonstrated gifts and talents as well as children who may be able to develop their talent potential with appropriate educational experiences." Check out "Information and Resources," "Gifted by State," and "Career Center" tabs.

Founded in 1926, The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is the leading association for those working with and on behalf of children from birth through age 8. NAEYC sets standards of excellence for programs and teachers in early childhood education.

Founded in 1921, The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) serves elementary and middle school principals and other education leaders throughout the United States, Canada, and overseas. Website includes links to resources and a career center.

Founded in 1916, NASSP is the preeminent organization for middle level and high school principals, assistant principals, and aspiring school leaders from across the United States and more than 45 countries around the world. NASSP provides professional research-based and peer-tested resources and practical tools and materials to enable members to serve as visionary school leaders.

Founded in 1915, The National Council for Geographic Education is a non-profit organization that works to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning. NCGE supports geography teaching at all levels. The NCGE website includes webinars and a jobline.

Founded in 1921, the National Council for the Social Studies is the largest association in the country devoted solely to social studies education. NCSS engages and supports educators in strengthening and advocating social studies. The "Resources" tab includes K-12 lessons, curriculum standards, links to other social studies organizations, and a career center.

The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education. The "Resources" tab includes links for lesson plans, standards, hot topics, and career opportunities, and the "Professional Development" tab includes web seminars.

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics strives to ensure that all students have access to the highest quality mathematics teaching and learning. Their website includes lessons and teaching tips and a "jobs online" link.

The National Education Association (NEA) serves to advance the cause of public education. NEA's 3 million members work at every level of education. It has affiliate organizations in every state and in more than 14,000 communities across the United States. NEA's vision is "a great public school for every student." Check out "Tools and Ideas" for lesson plans and resources on classroom management, teaching strategies, etc. as well as publications.

Founded in 1994, The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all. NSTA's current membership of 60,000 includes science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, business and industry representatives, and others involved in and committed to science education. Check out "Publications and Products" (includes "Freebies for Science Teachers") and "Professional Development" for the career center/job bank.

The mission of TESOL is to "advance professional expertise in English language teaching and learning for speakers of other languages worldwide." Its website includes information on PreK-12 proficiency standards, technology standards, and a career center.