Sociology
Research guide to library resources in Sociology.
Welcome
This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using the Iona University Libraries' resources to complete project and assignments in Criminal Justice.
Go to the Criminal Justice and Sociology Department's home page to find information about course offerings, program requirements, faculty, and more.
Search for Background Information
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Ebook versions of encyclopedias and reference works covering most subjects, as well as a collection of classic literature and criticisms.
The following are examples of online reference books in criminal justice. Click each title to search each encyclopedia directly.
Search the Library Catalog
Databases
Criminal Justice Databases
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from sources in criminology; criminal justice; criminal law; forensic sciences; history of crime; probation and parole; etc. - ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security. - Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals related to criminal justice covering topics from Homeland Security and hackers to the Supreme Court. - Gun Regulation and Legislation In America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other materials on the topic of regulating firearms. - History of Capital Punishment This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text from trials, congressional hearings, periodicals, and scholarly articles related to the history of death penalty legislation. Includes Eugene G. Wanger’s Death Penalty Collection consisting of books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and photographs. - War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
Law Databases
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to state and federal case law and articles from scholarly journals. Text of the world's constitutions, U.S and classic treatises and presidential documents. - Fastcase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fastcase offers online access to cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and bar publications. The Fastcase legal research database includes materials from federal libraries, state courts, specialty courts, state statutes, state attorney general opinions, and state constitutions. - Fastcase (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline has partnered with Fastcase, a legal research service. Fastcase offers the full-text of case law at the federal and state levels. - Voting Rights and Election Law This link opens in a new windowThis collection has been curated by HeinOnline to showcase and collect resources related to voting rights and election law in political systems across the globe, to help users understand the nuances of electoral systems around the world. With thousands of pages of content on elections in countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, this database provides a truly global perspective.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- EBSCO (all collections) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks covering multidisciplinary subjects from all Ebsco databases. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and business. Journal coverage generally ends 3-5 years before the current year. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles. - Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals, magazine, newspapers, trade publications and some ebooks covering multidisciplinary subjects. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users can access thousands of U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group up to a national level, or create custom regions, for research and studies. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides demographic information through thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790. Set up an account with your Iona email address to create interactive maps, reports and statistics down to the street level.
Video Databases
- Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Videos covering Arts, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health, History, Literature, Psychology and Sciences. Contains video content from 60 Minutes /CBS, PBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to 26,000 films from 800 production companies. Its focus is on high-quality, educational content. Award-winning documentaries and feature films from producers to include the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, Strand New Day Films, PBS, The Great Courses, California Newsreel and Shout Factory are all included in the library.
Criminal Justice Theses
The library collects print copies of theses written for Iona's MS in Criminal Justice. All are located in Ryan Library.
Here is a browseable list of Iona Criminal Justice theses. You call also search for theses by topic in WorldCat Discovery. Include the search term b8:crj in your search to limit your results to the CRJ theses.. For example, search juvenile b8:crj.
Ask for CRJ theses at the Ryan Library Help Desk by their call number (i.e. CRJ 073). Theses may be viewed in Ryan Library only and not leave the building.
Where are the Criminal Justice Books Located?
Most criminal justice books have Dewey Decimal call numbers between 363 and 365. In Ryan Library, these books are primarily shelved on the third floor, West wing. However, some books are shelved in special collections, such as the Irish Collection. The library catalog will indicate when a book is not shelved in the main collection, and many books will have a letter before the call number. To see all of Iona's library locations, consult the complete list of library locations and collections.
List of Criminal Justice Dewey Call Number Ranges:
- 345 Criminal law
- 363.2 Police services
- 363.32 Social conflicts; riots
- 363.325 Terrorism
- 363.33 Gun control
- 364 Criminal justice
- 365 Penal and related institutions