Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using the Iona College Libraries' resources to complete project and assignments in Sociology.
Go to the Sociology Department's home page to find information about course offerings, program requirements, faculty, and more.
Search for Background Information
Ebook versions of encyclopedias and reference works covering most subjects, as well as a collection of classic literature and criticisms.
Or, try searching one of these specific encyclopedias directly.
Where are the Sociology Books Located?
Most books on sociology have call numbers beginning with 300 through 319 and 360 through 369. At Iona, most books with call numbers beginning 300-319 are located on the third floor, south wing of Ryan Library. Books with call numbers beginning 360 through 369 are located on the third floor, west wing. Other sociology books may be located in special locations such as the Irish Collection or the reference room. Consult this complete list of library collection locations for more information.
List of Dewey Call Number Ranges for Sociology
- 301 - Sociology and Anthropology
- 302 - Social Interaction
- 303 - Social Processes
- 304 - Factors Affecting Social Behavior
- 305 - Groups of People
- 306 - Culture and Institutions
- 307 - Communities
- 310-319 - Statistics; Demographics
- 360-369 - Social Problems and Services
EBSCO (all collections)
Articles and ebooks covering multidisciplinary subjects from all Ebsco databases.
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and business. Journal coverage generally ends 3-5 years before the current year. Complimentary access to unlicensed collections has been made available by JSTOR through 6/30/2022 in an effort to support increased online learning during the COVID-19 outbreak.
Articles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles.
Social Science Database
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Users can access thousands of U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group up to a national level, or create custom regions, for research and studies.
SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present.
Social Sciences in Video
This collection uses raw field recordings, documentaries, newsreels, counseling transcripts, etc. to cover a broad range of subjects concerned with humanity’s efforts to understand itself and the world.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Articles from sources in criminology; criminal justice; criminal law; forensic sciences; history of crime; probation and parole; etc.
ProQuest Criminal Justice
A comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
Articles exploring cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Diversity in Video
Documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures which cover issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Articles from journals providing coverage of such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.