Fine & Performing Arts
Iona University Libraries Research Guide on Fine & Performing Arts
Web Resources for Fine Arts
- Getty Vocabularies
- CompFight
- Digital Collections
- Other Institutions
- Funding Resources
- Guides & Resources
An industry standard for information catalogers and researchers, the Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture, and material culture.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) OnlineResearchers can use the records in AAT as a jumping-off point to obtain quick information about topics and themes in Art & Architecture. When digging deeper into a topic, AAT can prove invaluable in providing narrower, broader, and related topics.
- Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) OnlineThe records in ULAN can be very helpful in acquiring quick information (full name, birth and death dates, genre, etc.) about artists.
- CompFightSearch engine for visual inspiration and free stock photos for the advertising community, including creative commons and public domain images.
Almost all major museums and archives now have online catalogs containing digital images of physical works in the institution's collection. These catalogs can generally be accessed through the museum's website. They are searchable in the same way that textual databases are searchable, and they provide detailed information about key art objects.
- Getty Publications Virtual LibraryFree digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives.
- Getty Research Institute, Research Guides and BibliographiesThe Getty Research Institute, located in Los Angeles, is a premier arts and humanities research center. The resources it offers are well-regarded and reliable.
- BHA and RILA, Getty Research Institute DatabaseThis free database searches the Getty Research Institute's BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art) indexes. Full-text articles are unavailable through this portal but can be requested from ILL with the citation provided.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, the Metropolitan Museum of ArtThe Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Met's physical collection. The Timeline is an excellent reference source for students, augmented with images, maps, and scholarly essays.
- Google Art ProjectA collaboration between Google and over 150 acclaimed art collections, the Google Art Project provides a unique online experience where users can explore a wide range of artworks at brushstroke level detail, take a virtual tour of a museum and even build their collections to share.
- National Endowment for the ArtsThe foremost grant-funding institution in the United States. Apply for grants or fellowships, and follow what other artists do with theirs.
- The Andrew W. Mellon FoundationOne of the largest grant-funding institutions in the world, the Mellon Foundation provides grants and fellowships to artists and academics all over the globe.
- Project MuseProvides some freely available and subscription-only content, the Project MUSE database shows the efforts of Johns Hopkins University to make scholarly materials about the arts and humanities available on the internet.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, the Metropolitan Museum of ArtThe Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Met's physical collection. The Timeline is an excellent reference source for students, augmented with images, maps, and scholarly essays.
- Library of CongressThe Library of Congress has digital galleries and education tools structured around its collections in Prints & Photographs, Maps, Film, etc. Be sure to check out the American Memory Collection for historical design content.
- Last Updated: Mar 7, 2024 11:25 AM
- URL: https://guides.iona.edu/FPA
- Print Page