Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using the Iona College Libraries' resources to complete project and assignments in Social Work.
Go to the Social Work Department's home page to find information about course offerings, program requirements, faculty, and more.
Search for Background Information
Begin your research by consulting an online encyclopedia:
Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th edition
E-reference coverings issues relevant to the practice of social work.
Ebook versions of encyclopedias and reference works covering most subjects, as well as a collection of classic literature and criticisms.
Where are the Social Work books located?
Books on social work typically start with call numbers between 360 and 362.9. At Iona, books with these call numbers are located on the third floor, west wing of Ryan Library. However, other social work books may be located in a special location, such as the reference room. Consult this complete list of library collection locations for more information.
Dewey Call Number Ranges for Social Work:
- 361.3 - General Social Work
- 361.4 - Group Work
- 361.6 - Social Welfare; Government Action in Social Work
- 362 - Social Services
- 362.2 - Services for People with Mental Illness and Disabilities
- 362.3 - Services for People with Developmental Disabilities
- 362.4 - Services for People with Physical Disabilities
- 362.5 - Services for the Poor
- 362.6 - Services for the Elderly
- 362.7 - Services for Children and Young Adults
- 362.73 - Foster Care and Adoption
- 362.76 - Child Abuse
- 362.82 - Services for Families
- 362.8292 - Domestic Violence
- 362.83 - Services for Women
- 362.84 - Services for Specific Ethnic and National Groups
Social Work Abstracts
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), provides indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
The PsycINFO database, produced by the American Psychological Association’s (APA), contains 3 million+ records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600's. Journal coverage spans from the 1800's to the present and includes material from 2,500+ international periodicals in all fields relating to psychology.
ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors. Titles include: The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics, The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, Development and Psychopathology, and The Psychological Record.
NASW Register of Clinical Social Workers, 14th ed.
Provides a listing of clinical social workers who have met national standards for education and experience established by the NASW Competence Certification Commission on recommendation of the Committee on Clinical Social Work.
Social Science Database
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Academic Search Elite
Articles from journals, magazines and other resources covering multidisciplinary topics.
EBSCO (all collections)
Articles and ebooks covering multidisciplinary subjects from all Ebsco databases.
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and business. Journal coverage generally ends 3-5 years before the current year. Complimentary access to unlicensed collections has been made available by JSTOR through 6/30/2022 in an effort to support increased online learning during the COVID-19 outbreak.
Articles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles.
SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
This series contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by counseling professionals.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to 26,000 films from 800 production companies. Its focus is on high-quality, educational content. Award-winning documentaries and feature films from producers to include the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, Strand New Day Films, PBS, The Great Courses, California Newsreel and Shout Factory are all included in the library.
Social Sciences in Video
This collection uses raw field recordings, documentaries, newsreels, counseling transcripts, etc. to cover a broad range of subjects concerned with humanity’s efforts to understand itself and the world.
National Association of Social Workers
The largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world.
New York State Licensing in Social Work
From the NY State Dept. of Education. Includes typical job descriptions and licensing requirements for becoming a professional social worker in the state of New York.
U.S. Administration for Children & Families
This U.S. federal agency funds programs in family assistance, child support, child care, Head Start, and child welfare. The site includes information about each program, as well as research and statistics on family and child welfare.