Psychology
Welcome!
This Research Guide is to aid you in finding library resources to help you with your Psychology projects and assignments.
For information on Psychology courses, curriculum requirements, and faculty, please see the Psychology Department's homepage.
Background Information
To begin your research, first find background information on your topic. A good place to start is Gale eBooks, an online collection of reference works on a variety of topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Ebook versions of encyclopedias and reference works covering most subjects, as well as a collection of classic literature and criticisms.
Or, you may try searching a psychology reference work directly. Below are several examples:
- DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental DisordersA standard reference work in the fields of psychology and psychiatry, the DSM classifies and offers standard criteria for mental disorders.
Search the Catalog
Where are the Psychology Books Located?
Most psychology books are begin with call numbers between 150 and 159 or beginning 616.8. For the most part, Iona's psychology books are located on the third floor of Ryan Library. The exception are school psychology books, which are located in Arrigoni Library and begin with the call number 370.15. Additionally, some books are located in the library's special collections and locations within the library, such as the reference room. Please see this complete list of locations and collections for more information.
Dewey Decimal Call Numbers for Psychology
- 150-150.9 General psychology
- 152-152.9 Sensory perception, movement, emotions, physiological drives
- 153-153.9 Conscious mental processes, intelligence
- 154-154.9 Subconscious and altered states and processes
- 155-155.9 Differential and developmental psychology
- 156-156.9 Comparative psychology
- 158-158.9 Applied psychology
- 370.15 Educational psychology
- 616.8 Diseases of the nervous system, Mental disorders
- 616.83 Organic diseases of the nervous system (e.g. Alzheimer's, Parkinson's)
- 616.852 Neuroses
- 616.858 Personality, Sexual, Gender Identity, Impulse-Control, Developmental and Learning Disorders
- 616.86 Substance abuse
- 616.89 Mental disorders
- 616.8914 Psychotherapy
- 618.928 Mental disorders in children
Databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database, produced by the American Psychological Association’s (APA), contains 3 million+ records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600's. Journal coverage spans from the 1800's to the present and includes material from 2,500+ international periodicals in all fields relating to psychology. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 50+ psychology journals, most published by the American Psychological Association. (Note: All full-text articles can also be accessed by searching the much larger PsycINFO database.) - Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based portal featuring DSM-V - the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world - and The American Journal of Psychiatry, along with a variety of other popular psychiatry journals, textbooks, news and more. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- JoVE Psychology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Psychology includes peer-reviewed, scientific video protocols in the following areas: Behavioral Science, Experimental Psychology, Cognitive Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Neuropsychology, Sensation and Perception, and Social Psychology. - Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors. Titles include: The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics, The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, Development and Psychopathology, and The Psychological Record. - HaPI This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) collects bibliographic information for peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs. HaPI is an essential resource that helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests most relevant to their research purposes. - Cochrane Library (all via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This search contains four Cochrane Library resources: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Cochrane Methodology Register. - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. Most CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly PubMed and Embase.com), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources, including CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform. - Cochrane Clinical Answers (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to research from Cochrane Reviews. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practicing healthcare professionals. The evidence is displayed in a user-friendly tabulated format that includes narratives, data, and links to graphics. - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading database for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements. A Cochrane Review is a systematic review that attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimizing bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision-making. - Cochrane Methodology Register (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials, last update in 2012. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. - Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time and includes over 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. - Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) dating back to Volume 1. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the MMY is a comprehensive guide to 2,000+ contemporary testing instruments in the areas of psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP) is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests in print in the English language. - EBSCO (all collections) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks covering multidisciplinary subjects from all Ebsco databases. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and business. Journal coverage generally ends 3-5 years before the current year. - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present. - Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Videos covering Arts, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health, History, Literature, Psychology and Sciences. Contains video content from 60 Minutes /CBS, PBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc.
Recommended Websites
- American Psychiatric AssociationThe world's largest psychiatric organization. Its membership includes over 36,000 practicing psychiatric physicians from the United States and other areas of the world.
- American Psychological AssociationThe world's largest organization of psychologists, with over 137,000 members. Its goal to promote psychology as a science, as a profession, and as a means of promoting human health and welfare.
- American Psychological Association of Graduate StudentsThis section of the American Psychological Association works to support graduate students in the discipline.
- Buros Center for TestingAn independent organization which serves as the world's premier publisher of test and assessment reviews.
- National Association of School PsychologistsA U.S. national professional organization for school psychologists.