Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Iona WorldCat: Advanced Search

Search Tips

For in-depth search guidelines go to the WorldCat help page and see the searching section which covers phrase searching, Boolean operators, wildcards, truncation, and more.

Advanced Search

For more refined results for books, e-books, and DVDs, start your research by clicking on "Advanced Search" link. 

Note: For articles, Iona WorldCat already searches the title and author in all the databases from the "Basic Search" box, so you don't need to use "Advanced Search" for articles.  If you want to do a more in-depth article search, it's recommended that you go directly to the research databases page to search.

WorldCat Quick Find box, Advanced Search feature


This form allows you to refine your search by:

  • Search Terms: Use the drop-down menus to limit a search by:
    • Keyword
    • Author
    • Title
    • Journal Source
    • Subject
  • Limit Your Search to:
    • Peer-reviewed articles: Check this box to receive only articles that are peer-reviewed in your search.
    • Format: Use the drop-down menu to select book, article, newspaper, journal, etc.
    • Year: Specify a date or date range.
    • Language
    • Audience
    • Content
    • Location:  We recommend that you leave this to the default Libraries Worldwide.

WorldCat advanced search form 

If you're searching for an article, you can also further refine your search by selecting what databases you want to be searched.  Use the drop-down area next to the database to select one or more in that group, or click on the "Select all in group" button, to select all databases in that group.  Note: You can choose to leave this section alone and it will search all the listed databases.

WorldCat advanced form databases list