Health and Wellness
Iona University Libraries Research Guide on Health and Wellness
A-Z Database Page
The databases listed are some of the most popular used by students doing research for their Health & Wellness courses.
Additional databases may be found on the A-Z Database page.
You may want to filter your databases for the subject of the class you are taking to find the recommended databases for that discipline.
Biology, Business, Chemistry, Communication Science Disorders, Entrepreneurship, Health, Wellness, & Medicine, Marketing, Math, Political Science, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology, and Social Work.
Remember, you can always Contact a librarian for help!
Databases & Streaming Videos
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis reference source contains definitions and articles on a number of health and wellness-related topics, as well as news articles and journal articles.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to nursing and allied health journals, plus Health Reference Center and the Alternative Health Module.
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration, and more.
- Consumer Health DatabaseThis database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowUsers will discover proven treatment techniques, examine experimental research theses, and find unique applications for specific sports (everything from baseball and bowling to tennis and yachting).
- Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new windowIncludes coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses.
- Public Health DatabaseOffers access to public health literature, including journals, reports, and videos, covering topics like biostatistics, epidemiology, health services, and environmental health.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Health & MedicineThis database focuses on health and medical periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues on Medical Science, Nursing, Allied Health, Public Health, and Pharmacology.
- Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new windowThis database provides reliable and relevant information on a wide range of health administration topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, Personnel management, Ethics, Health economics, and Public health administration.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowSAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present.
- Science DirectA comprehensive collection of research articles across various health science disciplines.
- WileyCoverage includes: Anatomy, Physiology, Psychology, Sports Medicine, Rehabilitation, Nutrition & Dietetics.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text provides the full text for nursing and allied health literature and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- Nursing & Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowWith a strong emphasis on full text titles cited in CINAHL and over 10 million articles, this collection's current and authoritative content will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. Nursing & Allied Health Collection focuses on research in the allied health fields and management of all sorts of patients.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields. Find coverage for over 70 wide-ranging topics including: Cytology, Nursing, Nutrition, Oncology, Pediatric Care, Pharmacology, Public Health, and Radiology.
- Ovid Nursing Full Text + Ovid Emcare - 2018 This link opens in a new windowOvid Nursing Full Text PLUS is a single source of both premier current journal content from Lippincott and bibliographic and abstract data from the Ovid Nursing Database and Ovid Emcare.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC provides access to 150+ journals. (Note: Many journals have a six month to one year delay period before issues become available.)
- Biomedcentral (Open access)BMC is an open access platform publishing peer-reviewed journals in the areas of biomedicine.
- CDC WonderCDC Wonder is an online database managed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) that provides free access to a vast collection of public health data, allowing users to query and analyze information on various health topics like mortality rates, cancer incidence, births, vaccinations, environmental exposures, and more, enabling researchers and public health professionals to study population health trends and evaluate interventions across different geographic regions and demographics
- HaPI This link opens in a new windowHealth and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) is a comprehensive database that provides detailed information about various measurement tools used in healthcare research across different disciplines like medicine, nursing, psychology, social work, and public health.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowAn interactive tool that utilizes geographic data to visualize and analyze health disparities and social determinants of health across different regions.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe PsycINFO database, produced by the American Psychological Association’s (APA).
- Health Sciences in Video This link opens in a new windowVideos provide lessons and demonstrations of skills and techniques. Interviews, documentaries, and reports explore basic principles and knowledge of health and wellness. Videos cover an array of medical fields—including anatomy, nursing, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine & exercise science.
- Health PolicyHealth Policy from Alexander Street is focused on health issues and their impact on society.
Diet & Nutrition.
- JoVE Basic Biology This link opens in a new windowSkeletal Muscle Anatomy
Anatomy of the Intestines,
Gross Anatomy of Bone
- Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new windowVideos covering Health, Psychology and Sciences. Contains video content from 60 Minutes /CBS, PBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc.
Videos from the Association of Continuing Education (ACE) available in the Alexander Street Database.