Information Literacy Resources for Faculty

Introduction

The Information Literacy threads listed below are representative of the information literacy and research skills covered in library workshops and instruction. They are associated with the six ACRL Information Literacy frames, each outlining a concept central to information literacy.

The threads range from short library introductions to longer interactive sessions to assist students in conducting research and developing necessary research skills. The threads may be woven together to suit your class, assignment, or unique pedagogical framework. The list below is not exhaustive; the elements are easily customizable for content and time.

Please complete this form or contact your liaison librarian to request research instruction. The librarian will work with you to tailor the research instruction to meet your curricular needs. Along with your request for research instruction, please consider sharing the course syllabus and/or the specific assignment if applicable.

The times listed for each thread are estimates. Please add 15-30 minutes to the session if student hands-on work is requested.

Threads - by frame

Below are the ACRL Information Literacy frames, each outlining a concept central to information literacy. Click through the tabs to see the threads grouped by frame.

Authority is Constructed and Contextual (AC): Information resources reflect their creators’ expertise and credibility and are evaluated based on the information need and the context in which the information will be used. Authority is constructed in that various communities may recognize different types of authority. It is contextual in that the information need may help to determine the level of authority required.

Information Creation as a Process (IC): Information in any format is produced to convey a message and is shared via a selected delivery method. The iterative processes of researching, creating, revising, and disseminating information vary, and the resulting product reflects these differences.

Information has Value (IV): Information possesses several dimensions of value, including as a commodity, as a means of education, as a means to influence, and as a means of negotiating and understanding the world. Legal and socioeconomic interests influence information production and dissemination.

Research as Inquiry (RI): Research is iterative and depends upon asking increasingly complex or new questions whose answers in turn develop additional questions or lines of inquiry in any field.

Scholarship as Conversation (SC): Communities of scholars, researchers, or professionals engage in sustained discourse with new insights and discoveries occurring over time as a result of varied perspectives and interpretations.

Searching as Strategic Exploration (SE): Searching for information is often nonlinear and iterative, requiring the evaluation of a range of information sources and the mental flexibility to pursue alternate avenues as new understanding develops.

Source: https://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/ilframework#frames

Authority is Constructed and Contextual (AC):

Introduction to AI (10-15 Minutes)
Evaluating your Sources and Lateral Reading (10-15 Minutes)
Evaluating and Fact-Checking your AI Generated Sources (10-15 Minutes)
Citing Sources Generated by AI (15-30 Minutes)
Using AI Effectively: Understanding Accuracy, Copyright, Bias, Security and Privacy (15-30 Minutes)

Information Creation as a Process (IC):

Citing Sources (10-15 Minutes)
Introduction to AI (10-15 Minutes)
Evaluating and Fact-Checking your AI-Generated Sources (10-15 Minutes)
Scholarly vs Popular Sources Researching Current Events (10-15 Minutes)
Primary vs Secondary Sources (10-15 Minutes)
Citing Sources Level 2 (15-30 Minutes)
Annotated Bibliography (15-30 Minutes)
AI Tools & Prompts (30+ Minutes)

Information has Value (IV):

RefWorks (15-30 Minutes)
Plagiarism (15-30 Minutes)
Citing Sources Generated by AI (15-30 Minutes)
Using AI Effectively: Understanding Accuracy, Copyright, Bias, Security and Privacy (15-30 Minutes)

Research as Inquiry (RI):

Library Services and Resources Overview (10-15 Minutes)
AI and Library Resources - Research in Tandem (10-15 Minutes)
Introduction to AI (10-15 Minutes)
Choosing a Research Topic (15-30 Minutes)
Formulate a Research Strategy (15-30 Minutes)
Using AI to Formulate a Research Strategy (15-30 Minutes)
AI Tools & Prompts (30+ Minutes)
Databases and Search Strategies (30+ Minutes)

Scholarship as Conversation (SC):

AI and Library Resources - Research in Tandem (10-15 Minutes)
Citing Sources (10-15 Minutes)
Evaluating your Sources and Lateral Reading (10-15 Minutes)
Strategic Reading & Note Taking for Research (10-15 Minutes)
Scholarly vs Popular Sources Researching Current Events (10-15 Minutes)
Formulate a Research Strategy (15-30 Minutes)
Using AI to Formulate a Research Strategy (15-30 Minutes)
Annotated Bibliography (15-30 Minutes)
Databases and Search Strategies (30+ Minutes)

Searching as Strategic Exploration (SE):

Introduction to AI (10-15 Minutes)
Evaluating and Fact-Checking your AI-Generated Sources (10-15 Minutes)
Searching for Music, Images, and Other Media (15-30 Minutes)
Research with Primary Sources (30+ Minutes)
Data & Statistics Resources (30+ Minutes)

Pairing Threads

Threads are flexible and adaptable to your instruction needs. You can choose one or more threads to pair together in a single library session, or span threads out across multiple sessions. See some sample pairings below, and click through the tabs to see the threads grouped by the estimated amount of time they will take.

Learn about...	Start with...	Pair with...	Frames Covered
Finding Sources	Library Services and Resources Overview Choosing a Research Topic	Databases and Search Strategies Formulate a Research Strategy Research with Primary Sources	RI, SC SE, IC
Evaluating Sources	Evaluating your Sources and Lateral Reading Primary vs Secondary Sources	Scholarly vs Popular Sources Researching Current Events Annotated Bibliography	AC, IC, SC
Using Sources	Strategic Reading & Note Taking for Research Citing Sources	Data & Statistics Resources Refworks	SC, IC, IV, SE
AI Research	Introduction to AI Evaluating and Fact-Checking your AI Generated Sources AI and Library Resources - Research in Tandem	AI Tools & Prompts Using AI to Formulate a Research Strategy Using AI Effectively: Understanding Accuracy, Copyright, Bias, Security, and Privacy Citing Sources Generated by AI	AC, IC, IV, RI, SC, SE

* Format taken from https://library.hws.edu/instruction_menu/pairings and first three categories taken from https://www.radford.edu/content/library/research/faculty-resources/instruction-menu.html

The threads below each take about 10-15 minutes. Threads are flexible and adaptable to your instruction needs. You can choose one or more threads to pair together in a single library session, or span threads out across multiple sessions. The timings are estimates.

Library Services and Resources Overview (RI)
Citing Sources (SC, IC)
Strategic Reading & Note Taking for Research (SC)
Scholarly vs Popular Sources Researching Current Events (IC,SC)
Primary vs Secondary Sources (IC)
Introduction to AI (AC, IC, RI, SE)
Evaluating your Sources and Lateral Reading (AC, SC)
Evaluating and Fact-Checking your AI-Generated Sources (AC , IC, SE)
AI and Library Resources - Research in Tandem (RI, SC)

The threads below each take about 15-30 minutes. Threads are flexible and adaptable to your instruction needs. You can choose one or more threads to pair together in a single library session, or span threads out across multiple sessions. The timings are estimates.

Choosing a Research Topic (RI)
RefWorks (IV)
Plagiarism (IV)
Citing Sources Generated by AI (AC, IV)
Formulate a Research Strategy (SC, RI)
Using AI to Formulate a Research Strategy (RI, SC)
Annotated Bibliography (SC, IC)
Using AI Effectively: Understanding Accuracy, Copyright, Bias, Security, and Privacy (AC, IV)
Searching for Music, Images, and Other Media (SE)

The threads below each take about 30+ minutes. Threads are flexible and adaptable to your instruction needs. You can choose one or more threads to pair together in a single library session, or span threads out across multiple sessions. The timings are estimates.

Databases and Search Strategies (SC, RI)
AI Tools & Prompts (IC, RI)
Research with Primary Sources (SE)
Data & Statistics Resources (SE)

Spotlight: AI and Information Literacy Threads

10-15 Minutes

Introduction to AI (AC, IC, RI, SE)
Evaluating and Fact-Checking your AI-Generated Sources (AC , IC, SE)
AI and Library Resources - Research in Tandem (RI, SC)

15-30+ Minutes

Using AI Effectively: Understanding Accuracy, Copyright, Bias, Security, and Privacy (AC, IV)
Citing Sources Generated by AI (AC, IV)
Using AI to Formulate a Research Strategy (RI, SC)
AI Tools & Prompts (IC, RI)