Environmental Studies Program: Find Specific Journals
Search for Journals by Subject
LIST OF ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES JOURNALS available electronically and in paper copy/microform.
LIST OF HEALTH & BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES JOURNALS available electronically and in paper copy/microform (on this screen you see various health-related topics. Click on a topic to see specific journals).
LIST OF PHILOSOPHY & RELIGION JOURNALS available electronically and in paper copy/microform (on this screen you see various specific philosophy and religion related topics. Click on a topic to see specific journals).
LIST OF POLITICAL SCIENCE JOURNALS (GENERAL) available electronically and in paper copy/microform.
Searching by Journal Title or Keyword in Journal Title
Go to the Journals, Newspapers, & Magazine Titles page.
Underneath "2. Search by Journal Title:", you may look up a journal, magazine or newspaper by its exact title or by keyword(s) in the journal title.
If you know the journal title, type it in the search box and click on gray "search" button.
If you're not sure of the exact journal, magazine, or newspaper title but know the title contains one or more keywords, change "Title Begins With" to "Title Contains all Words" and then type one or more keywords into the search box provided. Then, click on gray "search" button.
If any journals are retrieved, note the time period covered as well as links to electronic full-text or print/microform holdings.
EXAMPLE 1 (Searching for a specific journal by its exact title):
You want to know if the library owns a journal called International journal of environmental research and public health
In search box, type in: international journal of environmental research and public health (or you probably could type in just the first 4 words or so)
Click on gray search button.
Here is information retrieved by this search. Note dates of coverage. Click on any of the blue links below to go to full-text for the journal.
International journal of environmental research and public health (1661-7827)
|from 2004 to present in Open Access Journals|
|from 2008 to present in PubMed Central|
|in GFMER Free Medical Journals|
After clicking on any of the above links, you may see a screen listing all available issues of the journal. You can click on a specific issue to browse articles in that issue. You may also see an option "search within this publication" which will allow you to search for articles containing specified keywords in this journal only.
EXAMPLE 2 (Searching for a journal with specific word(s) in the journal title):
You want to know if the library owns any journals which contain the word "environment" in the journal title.
To the left of search box, change "Title Begins With" to "Title Contains All Words".
Now, type in the keyword(s) in the box provided and click on the gray "Search" button.
Below are the first few results retreived by the search.
To read articles in the journal, click on any of the blue links below the journal title. Note that "Iona College Libraries Print/Microform" will take you to record for print or microform issues in our catalog, not to electronic full text. Note dates of coverage information is usually present.
Here are first few results retrieved by the search.
A+BE : Architecture and the Built Environment (2212-3202)
from 2011 to present in Open Access Journals
ACE: Architecture, City and Environment
in Open Journal Systems (OJS)
Acta geographica debrecina. Landscape and environment series
from 2007 to present in Open Access Journals
Annual review of energy and the environment (1056-3466)
from 1976 to present in Iona College Libraries Print/Microform
from 11/01/1996 to 11/30/2002 in Academic Search Premier
Examples of Environment and Related Fields Journals at Iona
Just a few examples. Hold your mouse over journal title to see dates of full text coverage and database where it may be found.
Click on journal title to access full-text.