Marriage and Family Therapy
Subject Research Guide -- A library resource guide for Marriage & Family Therapy.
Welcome!
This Research Guide is designed to aid students in using Iona University Library resources to complete projects and assignments in Marriage & Family Therapy courses.
For information on Iona's Marriage & Family Therapy Program, including courses, degrees, and faculty, please visit the Social Work & Marriage and Family Therapy Department's homepage.
Find Background Information
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Ebook versions of encyclopedias and reference works covering most subjects, as well as a collection of classic literature and criticisms.
You may also try searching one of these sample online reference books that cover topics related to marriage and family therapy.
Search the Catalog
Databases
Marriage and Family Therapy Databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database, produced by the American Psychological Association’s (APA), contains 3 million+ records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600's. Journal coverage spans from the 1800's to the present and includes material from 2,500+ international periodicals in all fields relating to psychology. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 50+ psychology journals, most published by the American Psychological Association. (Note: All full-text articles can also be accessed by searching the much larger PsycINFO database.) - Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based portal featuring DSM-V - the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world - and The American Journal of Psychiatry, along with a variety of other popular psychiatry journals, textbooks, news and more. - Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors. Titles include: The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics, The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, Development and Psychopathology, and The Psychological Record. - HaPI This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) collects bibliographic information for peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs. HaPI is an essential resource that helps researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests most relevant to their research purposes. - Cochrane Library (all via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This search contains four Cochrane Library resources: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Cochrane Methodology Register. - Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time and includes over 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- EBSCO (all collections) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks covering multidisciplinary subjects from all Ebsco databases. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and business. Journal coverage generally ends 3-5 years before the current year. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals and newspapers covering all subject areas. Includes dissertations, working papers from OECD, company reports, and country profiles. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online contains 600+ journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. The full text of every issue is available from Volume 1, Issue 1 to the present.
Video Databases
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This series contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by counseling professionals. - JoVE Psychology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Psychology includes peer-reviewed, scientific video protocols in the following areas: Behavioral Science, Experimental Psychology, Cognitive Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Neuropsychology, Sensation and Perception, and Social Psychology. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to 26,000 films from 800 production companies. Its focus is on high-quality, educational content. It includes several titles related to marriage and family therapy, including over 240 videos produced by Psychotherapy.Net.
Where are the Marriage & Family Therapy Books Located?
Marriage and Family Therapy books are primarily shelved in a few different call number ranges. Most are located on the third floor of Ryan Library. Some books, such as reference books, are shelved in different collections. Please see this table of locations and collections for more information.
Marriage and Family Therapy Call Numbers
- 158-158.9 Applied Psychology and Counseling
- 361.06 Counseling, Guidance, Related Services
- 362.82-362.828 Family Welfare and Counseling
- 616.8914 Psychotherapy
- 616.8915 Group and Family Psychotherapy