Skip to main content

Education: Mathematics

Subject Research Guide -- Education

Mathematics

ETA Cuisenaire:

  • Base Ten Blocks  (CC 372.7 B 299):  Contains an assortment of plastic rods and cubes that provide learning activities in mathematics (4 plastic bins with plastic Cuisenaire rods and blocks, guide, activity book, activity mats). 
  • Super Source Cuisenaire rods (CC 372.7 S 959):  Contains wooden and plastic rods of various unit lengths to be used in math instruction (wooden rods, plastic color overhead rods, plastic trays, rods template, teacher’s guide/activity book).  Grades 3-4 and 5-6.

Everyday mathematics / University of Chicago School Mathematics Project  (CC 372.7 E 93)

Kit consists of:

  • Grade Pre-K: Minute math ; Theme book ; Teacher’s guide to activities ; Program guide and masters ; Mathematics at home [books 1-3] ; Guideposts [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade K: Minute math ; Teacher’s guide to activities ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades K-3 ; Program guide and masters ; Mathematics at home [books 1-3] ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Guideposts [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade 1: Minute math+: grades 1-3 ; Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades K-3 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster] ; Thermometer [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade 2: Minute math+ : grades 1-3 ; Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 1-3 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster] ; Thermometer [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade 3: Minute math+ : grades 1-3 ; Student reference book ; Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 1-3 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster] ; Sunrise/sunset chart [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade 4: Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Student reference book ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 4-6 ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Math masters ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Geometry template ; Two-dimensional shapes/Three-dimensional shapes [poster] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster]
  • Grade 5: Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Student reference book ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 4-6 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Geometry template ; Probability meter [poster] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster]
  • Grade 6: Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Student reference book ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 4-6 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Geometry template ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; The real number line [poster] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster]

 Investigations in Number, Data, and Space (TERC)  (CC 372.7 I 62)  Contains manual, 2 disks, 2 posters, accompanying disks (located at Arrigoni Main Desk).  Grades 1-6:

 Pt. 1:  Mathematical thinking at grade 5: introduction, landmarks in the number system

                                          (accompanied by "Many squares” poster")

  • Pt. 2:  Picturing polygons: 2-D geometry
  • Pt. 3:  Name that portion: fractions, percents, and decimals
  • Pt. 4:  Between never and always: probability
  • Pt. 5:  Building on numbers you know: computation and estimation strategies
  • Pt. 6:  Measurement benchmarks: estimating and measuring
  • Pt. 7:  Patterns of change: tables and graphs
  • Pt. 8:  Containers and cubes: 3-D geometry: volume
  • Pt. 9:  Data: kids, cats, and ads: statistics

 Scott Foresman-Addison Wesley Math  (CC 372.7 S 425):

·         Grade K:  Contains 1 textbook, 3 teacher’s guides, 4 workbook masters, 1 CD-ROM, 1 cassette, 1 flashcard sampler

·         Grade 1:  Contains 1 textbook, 3 teacher’s guides, 7 workbook masters, 1 CD-ROM, 1 cassette, 1 flashcard sampler.

·         Grade 2:  Contains 1 student text, 3 teacher’s guides, 4 workbook masters, 1 CD-ROM, 1 cassette, 1 flashcard sampler

·         Grade 3:  Contains 1 text, 3 teacher’s guides, 7 workbook masters, 1 set of transparencies, 1 CD-ROM, 1 flashcard sampler.

·         Grade 4:  Contains 1 student text, 3 teacher’s guides, 7 workbook masters, 1 transparency set, 1 CD-ROM, 1 flashcard sampler

·         Grade 5:  Contains 1 student text, 3 teacher’s guides, 7 workbook masters, 1 set of transparencies, 1 CD-ROM, 1 flashcard sampler