Skip to main content

Education: Curriculum Materials @ Iona

Subject Research Guide -- Education

About Curriculum Materials

Curriculum materials listed in each category are located in the Curriculum Collection on the second floor of Arrigoni Library. They are available for in-library use only.

Curriculum Materials

DRA: Developmental Reading Assessment  (CC 372.4 B 386)

Gives teachers a range of tools to help monitor literacy behavior continuously as they teach, as well as conduct periodic assessments for accountability. Intended to guide teachers’ ongoing observations of student’s progress within a literature-based reading program:

  • Grades K-3:  Kit consists of 21 hanging pocket folders, 1 DRA continuum folder, 20 story books, 60 blackline masters, 1 teacher resource guide in storage box.
  • Grades 4-8:  Kit consists of 10 hanging pocket folders, 1 student assessment folder, 2 benchmark book packages of 20 story books each, 1 blackline masters, 1 teacher guide in box

IRA Literacy Study Groups Vocabulary  (CC 372.4 I 651)

Teaching vocabulary to improve reading comprehension (word recognition, spelling, and vocabulary).  Contains vocabulary discussion guide and related journal articles, facilitator’s guide (Reading Reflections: A Journal for Teachers).

The Literacy Bridge  (CC 372.4 L 776b)

A selection of children’s books and supporting curriculum materials to be used in teaching reading and other language arts skills to children just beginning to read. 

Cuisenaire / CVK Science Kits:

  • Air 2 (CC 372.35 A 298)

Contains equipment for air experiments. Students perform activities relating to air pollution, air expansion, pneumatic cushioning, using air pumps with various valves, hot air balloons and pneumatic rockets. Kit includes teacher/student activity cards; pieces are in large red plastic carrying case. 

  • Balances and equilibrium (CC 372.35 B 171)

Materials to construct 15 scales with miscellaneous weights and other materials designed to teach students about balances and equilibrium.  Pieces are in red plastic carrying case.  

  • Water purification (CC 372.35 W 324)

A filtration container with coarse and fine filter screens to allow experimentation with water cleaning and rate of flow concepts. Beakers and red coupling collars enable stacking of filters to test the filtration effects of gravel, sand and earth combinations. The addition of basic materials such as sand, soils or perlite is required.  Kit includes durable plastic materials for 15 pairs of students and teacher/student activity cards.  Contents are contained in a red plastic carrying case.

ETA Cuisenaire / Physical Science Module – Our Physical World I: Motion, Forces, and Energy in Our World  (CC 530.71 P 578)  Middle school curriculum module.  Contains one guide, miscellaneous pieces in 5 containers, and an inclined plane:

  • The Basics of Force and Motion
  • Machines and Work
  • What is Gravity?
  • How Heat Flows

ETA Cuisenaire / Life Science Module – Genetics: The Science of Heredity (CC 575.5 L 722)  Includes curriculum guide and assessment software.

  • The DNA Connection
  • Simulating Meiosis
  • Applying the Laws of Change to Genetics
  • Human Inheritance
  • Analyzing Chromosomes

 ETA Cuisenaire / Power of Science – The Human Body (CC 372.37 H 918)  Equipment and resources for performing in-class demonstrations and experiments illustrating the various systems of the human body.  Consists of miscellaneous items in a plastic container and teacher’s guide.

Science Investigations Toolkit Professional Development Guide (CC 372.35 C 524). An inquiry-based, hands-on science manual with blackline masters and accompanying materials for experiments.  Consists of a binder (text) and miscellaneous pieces in bag (38 different kinds of materials, including batteries, funnel, magnets, pulleys, soil samples, washers, copper wire, etc.)  

ETA Cuisenaire:

  • Base Ten Blocks  (CC 372.7 B 299):  Contains an assortment of plastic rods and cubes that provide learning activities in mathematics (4 plastic bins with plastic Cuisenaire rods and blocks, guide, activity book, activity mats). 
  • Super Source Cuisenaire rods (CC 372.7 S 959):  Contains wooden and plastic rods of various unit lengths to be used in math instruction (wooden rods, plastic color overhead rods, plastic trays, rods template, teacher’s guide/activity book).  Grades 3-4 and 5-6.

Everyday mathematics / University of Chicago School Mathematics Project  (CC 372.7 E 93)

Kit consists of:

  • Grade Pre-K: Minute math ; Theme book ; Teacher’s guide to activities ; Program guide and masters ; Mathematics at home [books 1-3] ; Guideposts [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade K: Minute math ; Teacher’s guide to activities ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades K-3 ; Program guide and masters ; Mathematics at home [books 1-3] ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Guideposts [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade 1: Minute math+: grades 1-3 ; Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades K-3 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster] ; Thermometer [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade 2: Minute math+ : grades 1-3 ; Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 1-3 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster] ; Thermometer [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade 3: Minute math+ : grades 1-3 ; Student reference book ; Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 1-3 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster] ; Sunrise/sunset chart [poster] ; Class number grid [poster]
  • Grade 4: Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Student reference book ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 4-6 ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Math masters ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Geometry template ; Two-dimensional shapes/Three-dimensional shapes [poster] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster]
  • Grade 5: Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Student reference book ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 4-6 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; Geometry template ; Probability meter [poster] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster]
  • Grade 6: Student math journal [v. 1-2] ; Student reference book ; Teacher’s lesson guide [v. 1-2] ; Teacher’s reference manual : grades 4-6 ; Math masters ; Assessment handbook ; Home connection handbook : grades K-6 ; Geometry template ; Teacher’s assessment assistant [CD-ROM] ; The real number line [poster] ; Content by strand/Learning goals [poster]

 Investigations in Number, Data, and Space (TERC)  (CC 372.7 I 62)  Contains manual, 2 disks, 2 posters, accompanying disks (located at Arrigoni Main Desk).  Grades 1-6:

 Pt. 1:  Mathematical thinking at grade 5: introduction, landmarks in the number system

                                          (accompanied by "Many squares” poster")

  • Pt. 2:  Picturing polygons: 2-D geometry
  • Pt. 3:  Name that portion: fractions, percents, and decimals
  • Pt. 4:  Between never and always: probability
  • Pt. 5:  Building on numbers you know: computation and estimation strategies
  • Pt. 6:  Measurement benchmarks: estimating and measuring
  • Pt. 7:  Patterns of change: tables and graphs
  • Pt. 8:  Containers and cubes: 3-D geometry: volume
  • Pt. 9:  Data: kids, cats, and ads: statistics

 Scott Foresman-Addison Wesley Math  (CC 372.7 S 425):

  • Grade K:  Contains 1 textbook, 3 teacher’s guides, 4 workbook masters, 1 CD-ROM, 1 cassette, 1 flashcard sampler
  • Grade 1:  Contains 1 textbook, 3 teacher’s guides, 7 workbook masters, 1 CD-ROM, 1 cassette, 1 flashcard sampler.
  • Grade 2:  Contains 1 student text, 3 teacher’s guides, 4 workbook masters, 1 CD-ROM, 1 cassette, 1 flashcard sampler
  • Grade 3:  Contains 1 text, 3 teacher’s guides, 7 workbook masters, 1 set of transparencies, 1 CD-ROM, 1 flashcard sampler.
  • Grade 4:  Contains 1 student text, 3 teacher’s guides, 7 workbook masters, 1 transparency set, 1 CD-ROM, 1 flashcard sampler
  • Grade 5:  Contains 1 student text, 3 teacher’s guides, 7 workbook masters, 1 set of transparencies, 1 CD-ROM, 1 flashcard sampler

African Americans – National Geographic Society  (CC 973.0496 A 258)

  • Contents include 1 CD-ROM, 1 binder of overhead transparencies, 2 maps, 1 teacher’s guide, and 2 video recordings; specifically:
  • Picture show: Civil rights (CD-ROM)
  • Picture pack: Civil rights (transparencies)
  • Flight to freedom: the underground railway, United States, 1860 (map)
  • Black migration (map)
  • Steal away: the Harriet Tubman story (video recording)
  • Racing for home: the Jackie Robinson story (video recording)
  • Teacher’s guide

Dear America Series:  Children can travel back to the earliest days of America through the diary pages and journals of young pioneers, courageous girls, and ordinary boys who become extraordinary heroes who tell their stories as they live through key periods in our nation’s history:

  • My America (CC FICTION M 995) – for grades 3-5
  • Dear America (CC FICTION D 285) – for girls, grades 6-9;
  • My Name is America (CC FICTION A 512) – for boys, grades 6-9
  • Teaching with Dear America Books  (CC FICTION D 285) – teacher’s guide

Facts on File Children’s Atlas  (CC 372.891 F 142)

Contains 1 hardcover and 15 soft cover atlases; one set of blackline masters. 

Native  Americans – National Geographic Society  (CC 970.004 N 27)

Contents include 1 video, 2 CD-ROMs, 1 teacher’s guide, 2 maps, 2 folders of transparencies; specifically:

  • Picture pack: Native Americans 1 - Eastern Woodlands, Plains
  • Picture show: Native Americans 1 - Eastern Woodlands, Plains
  • Picture pack: Native Americans 2 - Southwest, Northwest Coast, Arctic
  • Picture show: Native Americans 2 - Southwest, Northwest Coast, Arctic
  • Native American heritage: a visitor’s guide (map)
  • Indians of North America (map)
  • American Indians: a brief history (video)

The New York Experience  (CC 372.89 N 532)

Collection of materials designed to teach students about New York state geography and history. Contains 5 workbooks, 1 pocket guide, 1 map, 3 games, 1 CD-ROM, stickers; specifically:

  • The Big New York Reproducible Activity Book
  • My First Book About New York
  • New York Jeopardy!  Answers and Questions About Our State
  • New York "Jography" : A Fun Run Through Our State!
  • My First Pocket Guide
  • The Great State of New York
  • New York Bingo. Biography Edition
  • New York Bingo. Geography Edition
  • New York Bingo. History Edition
  • Let’s Discover New York!

Silver Burdett Ginn Social Studies – Communities Around Us  (CC 372.83 S 587)

Contains student text, teaching guide, lesson review book, activity book, teacher resource book.

The World Almanac Atlas of the World (CC 372.891 W 927)

One hardbound atlas ad 15 soft cover atlases, 1 set of blackline masters, 1 video, 1 globe, reference guide.

Loading