Skip to main content

Mass Communication / Journalism Concentration: Reference Resources

Subject Research Guide -- Mass Communication / Journalism Concentration

Reference Resources

Reference books are often a good place to start. The library has a collection of subject-specific, specialized encyclopedias and other reference materials that are available for you to use. These are often helpful when you are trying to select a topic, narrow down or broaden a topic, and get background information on your topic.

Did you know that you can search the reference collection from your computer using Reference Universe? Try it out by entering your search terms in the Reference Universe search box below.

Take a look at the Reference Universe sample search in the box to the right.

 

 

 

Reference Universe

An excellent place to start your research, Reference Universe searches Iona Library's reference collection, often returning full-text articles from specialized encyclopedias and other subject-specific reference books.


Enter your search terms:

More Reference Resources

If you'd rather search specific reference resources, here are a few to try:

Reference Universe Sample Search

Enter your search terms:

Click on "View 14 Index Entries" for the title History of the Mass Media in the United States:  An Encyclopedia in your results list:

 

Here is a listing of the entries and page numbers containing information on yellow journalism:

 

Click on "Return to Search Results" (illustration above) and then click on the title History of the Mass Media in the United States to get the call number and location:

 

 

Here's what you'll see next - it's the "record" for History of the Mass Media in the United States in our catalog that gives you location and call number information:

 

In the "Holdings Information" box, you can see that this book is located in the Reference collection of Ryan Library (main floor).  It's call number is R 302.23 H 673.  From your Reference Universe search, you now know the exact pages of articles that have information on your topic. 

Reference Universe has enabled you to search the contents of our reference collection without having to come to the library - and when you do come to the library, you know exactly what reference book(s) you need and the page numbers of articles of interest.