Computer Science: Research Tips
Why Use Articles?
Articles from publications are published on a more regular basis (e.g. once a week, every three months), versus a book. They can be scholarly journals, newspapers, or magazines.
For more information on the difference between these types of publications, see tutorial Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines.
Each issue of a periodical contains a number of articles, each of which can be located individually by searching a research database. Articles in scholarly journals often cover a topic in great depth and discuss current research.
For more information on how to search for articles on your topic, see tutorials How do I develop a search strategy to find articles in periodicals? and Article Searching & Finding Full Text.
Research Database Terminology
Full text - immediate access to the entire text of articles or books. Can be either PDF images of the page (useful if you are interested in images or ancillary information such as advertisements that appeared with the text in publication) or HTML text-only.
Abstract - Brief reference to article or book's citation information, plus a brief summary. Sometimes full-text access is available from another Iona-owned database.
Index - Brief reference to article or book's citation information. Like abstracts, sometimes full-text access is available from another Iona-owned database.
Find Full Text Articles
Locating the full text of an article:
- From a database citation, look for a link to "full text" or the Iona icon:
- Even if full text is not available in the database that you are searching, you will be given further options like checking another online or print source or requesting the article from the Interlibrary Loan Program.
Database Search Tips
Here are tips for better search results in databases.
Boolean: (using connectors: and, or, not)
mother and father searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.
mother or father searches for one or all, but both are not required.
mother not father searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father.’
(mother not father) and god
searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father,’ then also requires the word ‘god.’
art* searches for art, arts, artistic, artful, etc.