Skip to main content

Accounting: Electronic Books

Subject Research Guide

GOOGLE BOOKS

Google has digitized literally thousands of electronic books in all subject areas. 
Those no longer under copyright may be read in their entirety. Many which are under copyright provide limited preview of content. Use search box below to identify possible books of interest.

Google Books Information

Iona College Libraries may own print version of books digitized by Google.  Look for the "Find in a Library" link (usually on left side of screen) when you're displaying a book.  Make sure zip code is set to 10801 (iona zip code).  If we own the book, you will be taken to our library catalog where you will see the call number of the book as well as its availability status.

Possible viewing optoins for books digitized by google include:

FULL PREVIEW (you can read the entire book!  Book is noncopyrighted or out-of-copyright)
PREVIEW (formerly called Limited Preview).  These books have significant portions available for reading)
SNIPPET VIEW (only a few sentences containing your search words are available)
NO PREVIEW (only bibliographic informaiton is available)

HOW TO FIND ELECTRONIC BOOKS AT IONA COLLEGE

Iona College Libraries offer a large collection of electronic books including some which are history titles.  Check to see if we have any in your subject area of interest.

METHOD #1 -- Search for electronic books in WorldCat:

  • Type word(s) or term(s) of interest in search box.  Click blue search button.
  • Look in left column of the search results screen (underneath Format), for eBooks.
  • Click on the box in front of eBooks.
  • Wait for search results to update.
  • Re-examine search results.
  • Make sure book(s) of interest indicate they are available from Iona College Libraries.
  • Click title of any eBook of interest.
  • Click View eBook (appears underneath Find a Copy Online).


Most electronic books will be from our eBook Collection on EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary) Collection. Click on link in the cataloging record to read the e-book.  Note that if you are off-campus, a box will pop up prompting you to input your Iona username and password (same information you type in when logging on to computers on campus).

METHOD #2 -- Search the eBook Collection on EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary) database of electronic books which Iona has access to directly. 

You may also search the Gale Virtual Reference Library database of electronic books which we also have access to.

METHOD #3 -- Search Google Books, Hathi Trust, or other digital electronic book repositories.  See links to these in left and right columns of this page.

 
 

Electronic Book Research Databases Available at Iona College

ACCOUNTING RESOURCES -- Lexis-Nexis Academic
    Includes the text of many books published by John Wiley, the Accountants' Handbook, and the Accountants' Liability.

Search for books in eBook Collection on EBSCOhost

Iona provides access to thousands of e-books from eBook Collection on EBSCOhost.  These books may be read in their entirety. Note that if you are off campus and you click on link above, you may be asked to provide your Iona username and password.

Search for Referrence books such as encyclopedias and dictionaries in Gale Virtual Reference Library
Many of these are scholarly resources and most are subject-specialized as well.

HATHI TRUST & OTHER E-BOOK SOURCES