English -- ENG 110,120,122: Primary Sources
See Research Guide on Digitized Primary Sources for Literary History & Research
Digital Public Library of America or DPLA
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Digital Culture of Metropolitan New York (DCMNY)
A New Interface for METRO's Digital Collections
by Davis Erin Anderson, Community Engagement Manager, METRO
We’re excited to unveil the new online home for METRO-hosted digital collections! Digital Culture of Metropolitan New York (DCMNY), our new infrastructure for digital content, features nearly 25,000 digitized photographs, postcards, letters, maps, art catalogs, and more from seventeen participating institutions.
“We’re thrilled to be able to showcase these incredibly rich cultural artifacts from institutions in the metropolitan New York area,” says Anne Karle-Zenith, METRO’s Digital Services Manager. “These collections feature fascinating aspects of life in New York in years past. We can’t wait to see how the new site will help facilitate discovery and new uses of these materials.”
Difference between Primary & Secondary Sources
Excellent American Libraries Association Resource!
We now have greater access to primary source materials for historical research than ever before. The traditional use of sources available in print and microfilm continues to be the foundation for research, but in some cases documents, letters, maps, photographs of ancient artifacts and other primary material are available online in different formats from free websites or subscription services on the internet. This brief guide is designed to provide students and researchers with information to help them evaluate the internet sources and the quality of primary materials that can be found online.
Reference & User Services Association (RUSA)
Library of Congress
Library of Congress Digital Collections & Services
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services
Finding Primary Sources
Looking for Library of Congress primary sources? Try these quick starting points:
Primary Source Sets – Each set collects primary sources on a specific topic, all as easy-to-use PDFs, with historical background information and teaching ideas.
Primary Sources by State - Selected primary sources for each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. territories.
Themed Resources – The best Library of Congress resources on the most frequently taught themes.
Browse by Topic - Easy browsing for primary sources across all the digital collections of the Library of Congress.
Web Guides - In-depth guides to resources on a wide variety of topics.
The following reputable sites link to thousands of primary sources.
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
- EuroDocs: Western European Primary Historical Documents
- Gallica: Digital Library of the National Library of France
- Making of America: 19th c. books and magazines
The Printed Ephemera collection at the Library of Congress is a rich repository of Americana. In total, the collection comprises 28,000 primary-source items dating from the seventeenth century to the present and encompasses key events and eras in American history. An American Time Capsule, the online presentation of the Printed Ephemera collection, comprises 17,000 of the 28,000 physical items. More are scheduled to be digitized in the future. While the broadside format represents the bulk of the collection, there are a significant number of leaflets and some pamphlets. Rich in variety, the collection includes proclamations, advertisements, blank forms, programs, election tickets, catalogs, clippings, timetables, and menus. They capture the everyday activities of ordinary people who participated in the events of nation-building and experienced the growth of the nation from the American Revolution through the Industrial Revolution up to present day.