History: Find Articles
Research Database Terminology
Full text - immediate access to the entire text of books or articles. Can be either PDF images of the page (useful if you are interested in images or ancillary information such as advertisements that appeared with the text in publication) or HTML text-only.
Abstract - Brief reference to article or book's citation information, plus a brief summary. Sometimes full-text access is available from another Iona-owned database.
Index - Brief reference to article or book's citation information. Like abstracts, sometimes full-text access is available from another Iona-owned database.
What is google scholar? How should I use it?
Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool to use for a search for a known item.
To customize your interface for Iona resources, click "Scholar Preferences" and search the "Library Links" area for Iona College. Search results will now link to Iona resources if we have the full-text of the article available. Why do this? Most search results in Google Scholar will ask you to pay to access the article.
Research Databases for History
Use databases to search for journal articles and other resources about a topic. You may also find links to the full text of articles. For additional resources, click PRIMARY SOURCES tab above.
Find Full Text
Locating the full text of an article:
- From a database citation, look for a link to "full text" or the Iona icon:
- Even if full text is not available you will be given further options like checking Google Scholar or requesting the article from Interlibrary Loan
- Video Tutorial on using Find Full-Text