Religious Studies: Citing Sources in MLA
MLA: Handbook 8th Edition in Print
The eighth edition of the MLA Handbook rethinks documentation for the era of digital publication. The MLA now recommends a universal set of guidelines that writers can apply to any source and gives writers in all fields. A new model for entries in the works-cited list reflects recent changes in how works are published and consulted. In the new MLA Handbook, the work’s publication format is not considered. Instead of asking, “How do I cite a book [or DVD or Web page]?” the writer creates an entry by consulting the MLA’s list of core elements—facts common to most works—which are assembled in a specific order.
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Available at the Ryan Help & Research Desks and the Arrigoni Help Desk.
MLA Quick Guides
To cite quotes and paraphrases in text use these formats:
Basic Format: (Author page number).
- Example: Romantic poetry is characterized by the "spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings" (Wordsworth 263).
- Example: It has been suggested that "meditation is an often overlooked but powerful option for dispute resolution in health care" (Tompkins and Benson 36).
Author stated in sentence:
- Example: Wordsworth extensively explored the role of emotion in the creative process (263).
- Example: Wordsworth stated that Romantic poetry was marked by a "spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings" (263).
No known author:
- Use the title instead.
- Example: We see so many global warming hotspots in North America likely because this region has "more readily accessible climatic data and more comprehensive programs to monitor and study environmental change ...." ("Impact of Global Warming" 6).
Courtesy of Cañada Library.
Formatting a Research Paper
If your instructor has specific requirements for the format of your research paper, check them before preparing your final draft. You may have questions about margins, text formatting, heading, and title, running head with page numbers, or other rules. For more information, see MLA.org formatting papers.
Work Cited Examples
Book (Print) One Author
E-Book (websites or databases)
Chapter or Article in an edited Book
Citing Journal Articles
Journal Article from library database (with doi)
Citing Magazine Articles
Magazine Article found online
Magazine Articles from Library Databases
Citing Newspaper Articles
Newspaper Article found online
Newspaper Article found in a library database
Citing a page in a Website
A Quick Look at Elements and Containers
MLA.org Works Cited -- A Quick Guide
The core elements of any entry in the Works Cited list are shown in the chart below. The core elements are in the order in which they should appear, followed by the appropriate punctuation mark. If an element cannot be found or does not apply to the source being cited, omit that element from the entry. End the entry with a period.
Note that the publication format isn’t considered because MLA no longer cares if your information comes from a book, magazine, streamed video, etc. The publisher is what’s important, not the mode you use to access it.
The concept of containers is crucial to MLA style. When the source being documented forms part of a larger whole, the larger whole can be thought of as a container that holds the source. For example, a short story may be contained in an anthology. The short story is the source, and the anthology is the container.
For a more detailed book example, go to MLA.org Work Cited: A Quick Guide.
Image credit: Modern Language Association. MLA core elements. 2016, www.mla.org/MLA-Style/What-s-New-in-the-Eighth-Edition
What is RefWorks?
Welcome to the New RefWorks
RefWorks is a new way to cite, collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. You can read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.
RefWorks’ drag and drop capability along with smart document recognition makes it easy and fast to upload documents and metadata into your account. The Save to RefWorks feature allows you to capture research from websites with the click of a button.
RefWorks is also....
- Iona College Library's preferred citation management tool.
- Free for Iona students and faculty
- Helps you organize your research
- Helps you create MLA, APA, Chicago, etc. reference lists
- Allows you to import citations directly and indirectly from Library databases and research websites, such as EBSCO, ProQuest, and WorldCat
- Enables you to share citations and lists
For important detailed information and videos on using RefWorks, please visit the RefWorks guide.
Creating a RefWorks Account - Start Here
Instructions for Creating a RefWorks Account
- Go to RefWorks and click on Create Account (located at the bottom of the box).
- Use your Iona email address to sign up for a new RefWorks account, personal email addresses are not valid.
- Your Iona email address becomes your login name. Note: Don't select your Institution.
- An activation email will be sent and you will need to validate your account to continue. *Note: if the verification email doesn't come directly into your Inbox, please check your Junk or More folders in Outlook. If you have questions about navigating Outlook, please contact the Help Desk.
- Click on the link in the activation email and you will be directed back to RefWorks to enter your name, role, and department affiliation.
- You will be asked if you’d like to install the Save to RefWorks web browser button (a way to import citations from web pages) Note: You can temporarily add this to the browser's toolbar on Iona College lab computers; it will erase after you shut down the computer. However, you can permanently add Save to RefWorks to your personal devices. See Save to RefWorks button page.
- You will also be asked if you'd like to install Write-n-Cite for Word. Note: This tool can be added to your personal devices. This tool is not currently available for download to Iona College lab computers.
Note: Your RefWorks account is NOT connected with your Iona log-in credentials.