Religious Studies: Find Articles & Databases
Research Databases for Religious Studies
The following databases index and/or provide full text articles in Religious Studies and closely related areas.
The following databases index and/or provide full text articles in a variety of topics, including Religious Studies.
Current Events Databases
The following databases are particularly helpful for finding information on current events and controversial issues. See a comprehensive list of our current events databases here.
Research Database Terminology
Full text - immediate access to the entire text of books or articles. Can be either PDF images of the page (useful if you are interested in images or ancillary information such as advertisements that appeared with the text in publication) or HTML text-only.
Abstract - Brief reference to article or book's citation information, plus a brief summary. Sometimes full-text access is available from another Iona-owned database.
Index - Brief reference to article or book's citation information. Like abstracts, sometimes full-text access is available from another Iona-owned database.
Database Search Tips
Here are tips for better search results in databases. This usage works onmost databases, but check 'Help' sections for supported search syntax.
Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not)
mother and father searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.
mother or father searches for one or all, but both are not required.
mother not father searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father.’
(mother not father) and god
searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father,’ then also requires the word ‘god.’
art* searches for art, arts, artistic, artful, etc.
m?n searches for man and men.
What is google scholar? How should I use it?
Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool to use for a search for a known item.
To customize your interface for Iona resources, click "Scholar Preferences" and search the "Library Links" area for Iona College. Search results will now link to Iona resources if we have the full-text of the article available. Why do this? Most search results in Google Scholar will ask you to pay to access the article.